Issey Miyake L’Eau d’Issey

Image

Yes, that Escentual order finally arrived, and I have finally been united with my olfactory soulmate, Issey Miyake l’Eau d’Issey. Ever since I tested out this 90s classic in Dublin Airport en route to Florence, I was hooked. In fact, whenever I saw it in a shop or airport I’d liberally douse myself in it, dreaming of the day when I would own it myself. 

I took my chance while availing of Escentual’s French Pharmacy sale last month, as l’Eau d’Issey was also on offer. The EDP was a little out of my price range so I ordered the EDT instead. As soon as I got my paws on the conical, frosted bottle, my perfume needs were fulfilled. The box got a little bit squashed in the post, but we’ll overlook that.

I’m not too hot on perfume lingo but a quick Google has told me that this is an aquatic floral scent with musky and woody tones. Floral notes include lotus, freesia. cyclamen, rose water and white lilies, among others. So, in layman’s terms, it’s a mish-mash of all things fresh. All I know is that it’s very fresh and light, and feels very grown up to wear, and perfect for springtime too. I’m going to make it my signature scent. Absolutely.

I was a little apprehensive about ordering the EDT, in case the lasting power was poor and I was simply wasting money. But the EDT is very potent; two spritzes lasted a good ten hours on my skin before I couldn’t really smell it anymore. In fact, two spritzes is probably a tad too much for everyday wear. It’s quite a sharp scent, and I’d imagine it would be quite easy to overdo it. In fact, I don’t think I’d ever have need to buy the EDP, which is very strong. The scent almost verges on masculine, so subtlety is key really.

L’Eau d’Issey is definitely my favourite scent in my collection. I’ve never owned many perfumes, but my other favourites have included Armani Code and Thierry Mugler Angel for night, and Chanel Chance for daytime. L’Eau d’Issey will be a daytime scent for me, especially as it really gives my mood a boost whenever I wear it. Like jumping into a swimming pool in a garden full of flowers, if you will.

Have you ever worn L’Eau d’Issey? What is your favourite scent?

Em X

3 thoughts on “Issey Miyake L’Eau d’Issey

  1. Pingback: #ThrowbackFashion Dress ca. 1991 by @IsseyMiyakeNYC (Japanese, born 1938) | DUC C. NGUYÊN BLOG

  2. Pingback: April Beauty Favourites | ilyanarose

  3. Pingback: Issey Miyake |

Leave a comment