L’Oreal Nude Magique Eau de Teint

Image

Evening all! I’ve finally gotten around to reviewing the latest addition to my foundation stash, L’Oréal’s Nude Magique Eau de Teint. This new lightweight formula is apparently a dupe for Armani Maestro; a claim that I can’t attest to as I’ve never used the Armani foundation, but L’Oréal’s offering is making a few claims of its own. This is apparently the lightest, most subtle foundation on the market.

Since my last post about my Sleek haul in which I mentioned I’d bought a rather nice Catrice foundation, I went back to my trusty Estée Lauder Double Wear. However I tend to change my mind more than my underwear, and I decided that I’d like something a little more lightweight for daytime as the ELDW can be quite heavy on the skin. Also, at €36.50 a bottle, I want to make it last for as long as I can! So I popped into Boots last Thursday and bought the Nude Magique in the palest shade, 100 Porcelain. It’s retailing here at about €12-€13.

Image

My initial impressions were good; although the bottle only contains 20ml of product compared to the standard 30ml, I can justify this by reminding myself that I’m using it to replace a far more expensive foundation. The bottle itself is frosted glass and adds, I think, a touch of sophistication to a drugstore foundation. In fact, it’s not unlike ELDW in terms of packaging.

Image

As you can see, the formulation is indeed very watery-looking. After you shake the bottle you are supposed to tip a drop onto your finger and apply sparingly. Other beauty blogs have informed me that L’Oréal describe this foundation as containing ‘volatile oils’ that evaporate on contact with the skin to create a satin-matte finish. As an oily-skinned girl I was a little nervous at the mention of oils but, as it turned out, their presence wasn’t a problem. The liquid has a lovely silky texture, as light and airy as promised. The product does suffer for a lack of a pump however; it’s difficult to prevent any drops escaping.

Image

Here’s the blemished, tired and rather cranky-looking canvas I was working with. I was smothered with a cold and getting ready for work, hence the unflattering white blouse and pale complexion. This foundation had a challenge on its hands!
Already I had cleansed and applied my La Roche Posay Effaclar Duo (favourite skincare product ever), Anatomicals The Hottie Tottie is Never Spotty moisturiser, and Smashbox Photofinish Primer.

Image

And here’s the Nude Magique, sans concealer or powder. I’ll admit to needing two good layers to achieve a medium level of coverage. But I’d consider that good going for skin that can only be described as ‘problem’; after all, it had ten years’ worth of acne scarring to hide, plus current spots. I still had need for concealer, especially for under my eyes, but the same goes for any foundation I use, be it cheap or expensive. The shade I had bought, 100, was perfect on me, with its yellow undertones. However, I’m quite sallow and not deathly pale, so I do feel that paler girls may not find this product pale enough or pinky-toned enough to suit them. This could indeed be a stumbling point in the Irish market for this foundation.

Image

(I fixed my eyebrows after I took this, I swears!)

Image

And here is the finished make-up look. I kept things pared back, as befitting a foundation with a natural, subtle effect. And anyway, an intense smokey eye is pretty wasted on work. The other products I used are as follows:
– Catrice All Matte pressed powder in 010 Translucent
– Sleek Correct and Conceal palette in 1
– Sleek blush in Coral (love, love, love)
– Sleek Brow Kit in Dark
– MAC Opulash in Bad, Bad Black

Overall, I’m rather impressed with this foundation. While I don’t feel that a foundation can feel as completely weightless as bare skin, this comes pretty close. The finish, as I said, is satin matte, which I love as a brighter alternative to the flat, mask-like effect of true matte foundations. It looks sheer on the skin while still delivering surprisingly decent coverage. I think all but the clearest of complexions would still need a little concealer help, but who doesn’t?! While Nude Magique certainly doesn’t have the durability of ELDW and its ilk, I can still get a good ten hours out of this foundation, with some blotting and powder touch-ups. But I’m a fiend for touch-ups anyway, to the extent that my boyfriend asks why I keep making my nose ‘dusty’… boys!

For the price point, I think this is a brilliant everyday foundation. The lack of a pump dispenser and a rather limited shade range are my only criticisms. But if it helps me look halfway decent everyday with minimal effort, and conserves my precious ELDW, I’m more than happy to recommend it 🙂

Has anyone else tried this foundation? Any tips to optimise it?

Emily xx

2 thoughts on “L’Oreal Nude Magique Eau de Teint

  1. Pingback: Nars Sheer Matte Foundation Review | ilyanaroseblog

  2. Pingback: Build Me Up Buttercup – The Foundations Post | ilyanaroseblog

Leave a Reply

