Rugby and bathtubs.

2014-02-08 11.19.32

Hello bloggers, and happy Monday (insofar as a Monday can be referred to as ‘happy’). I hope you all had a lovely weekend! Mine was really brilliant, so much so that I’ve decided to veer away from the beauty side of things in order to tell you about it.

The above photograph is of the Aviva Stadium in Dublin; Ireland’s national soccer and rugby teams’ home grounds. My Mum bought tickets to see Ireland play Wales in the RBS Six Nations for my Dad for Christmas and luckily my sister and I got to tag along as well. My Dad is an avid rugby fan, and we all enjoy watching Ireland compete in the Six Nations tournament. The beauty of the competition is that there is never a dead-cert for the winner; each team is as capable as the other. Ireland hasn’t being playing too well in recent competitions but, with Joe Schmidt at the helm and an impressive bench, we’re looking good for 2014. In fact, we hammered Scotland 28-6 last weekend in the Aviva, a fantastic opening to the Irish campaign.

Last Saturday we were at home again to Wales and, while hopes were running high, it was unquestioned that Wales would be a tougher opponent to beat.

But let’s rewind to Friday night, and I’ll describe the best hotel stay I’ve had in a long time. Owing to my Dad’s job, he was able to swing us a night’s bed and breakfast in the Clyde Court Hotel in Ballsbridge; merely a stone’s throw from the Aviva. We arrived late on Friday evening, bedraggled and soaked from the rain, to be told at reception that we were being put up in the penthouse!

I don’t think I can do justice to the magnificence of the penthouse in words alone, so I took plenty of photographs of its staircase, hall, three bedrooms, two huge bathtubs, sitting room and meeting room. When I say you could live in that penthouse, I’m really not exaggerating.

This was the impressive entrance hall that first greeted us.

2014-02-07 21.46.51

The gorgeous little atrium, with a lovely skylight that’s not visible in the picture.

 2014-02-07 21.45.02

Where have you ever seen a hotel room with a corridor this long?!

2014-02-07 21.44.51

The conference room; not a great photograph but you get the idea.

2014-02-07 21.44.26

The cosy sitting room, with a wide screen TV in the corner and lots of lovely fruit. God I love fruit.

2014-02-07 21.43.49

The very presidential-looking blue bedroom, with cabinets stuffed full of books I was itching to read. You could spend a week in here just poring over everything; the sitting room and conference room had a lovely selection as well.

2014-02-07 21.45.28

2014-02-07 21.45.17

The pink bedroom is where my sister and I stayed; it was just gorgeous. And the bathtub was the most luxurious I’ve ever been in. Overhead is another skylight that made the bathroom lovely and bright in the morning.

2014-02-07 21.43.15

2014-02-07 21.43.01

2014-02-07 21.42.42

There was also a green bedroom identical to the pink one, bathtub included, and the kitchen, which I forgot to photograph. To say I was impressed is a huge understatement!

I also included a photo of the huge bar set up in the hotel’s lobby to accommodate the many rugby fans who converged on the hotel before and after the match. It was a fantastic set-up!

2014-02-07 21.57.49

The hotel’s décor felt very luxurious, including the classically-styled bar and the more modern restaurant. I forgot to take photos at breakfast, but it was a delicious affair of pineapple and watermelon topped with natural yoghurt, pumpkin seeds, almond flakes and walnuts, followed by bacon, fried eggs and mushrooms with apple juice and coffee. We really enjoyed our stay in the hotel; despite the hustle and bustle of a match weekend, everyone was friendly and accommodating. I only wish we could have stayed another night!

By some miracle, the rain made way for sunny skies on Saturday morning as we made our way to the Aviva. Here were the Irish and Welsh sides about to face off at KO time. The atmosphere in the stadium was absolutely electric; Ireland’s first penalty was taken surrounded by complete hush as 56,000 people watched. Incredible.

2014-02-08 14.30.31

It was a cracking match; Ireland dominated from the first whistle, conceding a mere 3 points to Wales while they themselves racked up an impressive 26 points. After a few dodgy efforts Sexton’s kicking was on point, while Trimble shone and O’Mahoney achieved a well-deserved Man of the Match. Even some sly attempts at handbags from the Welsh side couldn’t knock Ireland off their stride. It was a thoroughly enjoyable game and I have high hopes for Ireland for the rest of the tournament. Here’s hoping!

Sunday was spent lounging around the house in my pyjamas, doing a bit of work on heydolly, attempting a book review for college, and taking up the hem on my dress for the Law Ball (more on that soon!). I won’t have another weekend off for months so I’m delighted that I made the most of this one.

Did anyone else do anything exciting this weekend?

Emily xx

One thought on “Rugby and bathtubs.

  1. Pingback: Build Me Up Buttercup – The Foundations Post | ilyanaroseblog

Leave a Reply

