Another Boots Haul!

Good evening bloggers, and happy Valentine’s Day/Friday/Vodka Day. I’ve been a little bit off the radar lately; between oodles and oodles of college work, a Law Ball and a ferocious two-day hangover, it’s been a little difficult to sit down and put fingers to keys for the blog, and for heydolly as well. But I’m back, and I’m demonstrating serious commitment, doing this on a Friday night, and Valentine’s night at that. You’d never guess that J was working!

As the über-cryptic title suggests, I’ve been spending my hard-earned pennies in the hallowed aisles of Boots once again. A surprise underpayment from work has left me a little more flush than I was expecting this week, so I took myself into town after college (in the lashing rain and cut-you-in-two winds; hello, stormy weather) and got spending. 

Image

 

 

The only item I had actually intended to buy was the Clairol Nice ‘n’ Easy permanent hair colour in Rich Dark Brown (€7.99). 

Image

There isn’t really much to say about Nice ‘n’ Easy. The colour is generally spot on, you don’t get that awful shock that some colourants give you, when you rinse it out and realise it’s completely different to what the Photoshopped model on the box led you to believe it would be. It applies without fuss or dripping, the conditioner leaves your hair delightfully soft, and it has good lasting power. A classic is a classic for a reason, after all. I left my ombréd ends alone, and the rich dark brown at my roots and midlengths now creates an even deeper contrast with the copper ends. Result.

Next up was one of those ‘I was looking for something else but they didn’t have it so I bought this instead and hoped for the best’ purchases; La Roche Posay Effaclar A.I. Targeted Breakout Corrector (€9.94).

Image

 

I was actually planning on stocking up on my beloved Effaclar Duo when I spotted this instead, but that particular Boots don’t stock it. I haven’t run out of Effaclar Duo yet, but my skin is doing a bit of a number on me lately. Not one to leave a shop empty-handed, I browsed the LRP shelves anyway and spotted the A.I. Breakout Corrector instead. I currently don’t have any products tailored specifically for breakouts so this looked interesting. I trust LRP as a brand and, at less than €10, it definitely couldn’t hurt to try it. It’s a local treatment which aims to reabsorb spots into the skin without causing scarring. The presence of salicylic acid in an acne treatment is always a plus, and this contains both salicylic acid and capryloyl salicylic acid. Having only bought this today, I can’t say for certain if it’s an effective acne treatment, although I have read reviews praising it. All I know is that, in the three hours since I applied it to a monstrosity of a spot on my shoulder (of all places), I can already see a reduction in swelling as the spot dries out. And if it can penetrate thicker skin, it can definitely work magic on delicate facial skin.

Lastly, I finally indulged in the ever-popular Soap & Glory Scrub Your Nose In It Pore Refining Formula for €11.99.

Image

 

I’ve been hearing rave reviews of this product for a couple of years, and yet it never occurred to me to buy it until now. It’s a little pricey but trust me, this stuff is the bomb. I have gaping pores on my cheeks, my nose and my forehead, which have an unfortunate tendency to clog. This, I told myself as I scuttled to the tills, shall be the answer to all of my problems. Containing ‘Superfruit Yuzu’, ‘D-Clog Micromud’, ‘Montmorillite Clay’ and ‘Super AHA Fruit Acids’, this scrub-come-mask claims to exfoliate and unclog your T-zone, while also soaking up excess oils and rejuvenating the complexion.
It works. OHMYGOD, it works. I’ve only used this once and I don’t think I’ve ever seen such a immediate visible effect from any other skin product. You dampen your T-zone (I liberally interpret this as extending to my bumpy jaw) and massage it in, then leave it to work its pixie magick for two minutes. Maybe I was imagining it, but I could physically feel my skin being deeply cleaned and refreshed. I rinsed it off and, lo and behold, my open pores have shrunk to pinpricks, and, moreover, my skin just looks so clean. I can’t tell you have fantastic this is for me. Afterwards I applied my Effaclar Duo and my Soap & Glory moisturiser and my skin honestly feels less oily than usual, three hours later. And it’s certainly not tight either. I don’t know what it is and I don’t know how they do it, but Soap & Glory have knocked it out of the park for me. I will definitely be purchasing more from them in the future. 

Has anyone else tried the products I’ve reviewed? 

Emily xx

 

3 thoughts on “Another Boots Haul!

  1. Pingback: My Skincare Overhaul and Reviews | ilyanaroseblog

Leave a Reply

