The Lust List

Good evening folks! Lately I’ve been spending an awful lot of time poring over magazines, blogs and shop displays and compiling a list of products I wish to buy, should it be my turn to win the lotto this week. Aside from the fact that I’ve forgotten to play the lotto this week, this little list is filled with the kind of goodies that I am unlikely to be able to afford in the next, I don’t know, decade. But it never hurts to look at them again. And again. And then some more.

First up is perfume, the sumptuous Tom Ford White Patchouli.
Image

 Believe it or not, I only discovered this little beauty today when I popped into Brown Thomas to buy Nars Sheer Matte (yes, finally!). I was hovering around, browsing the different cosmetic counters when I decided to peek at the notoriously expensive but amazing Tom Ford perfumes. Black Orchid, a favourite amongst Irish women is just divine, but a terribly heavy scent. This however, on the first spray, reminded me strongly of childhood holidays in Spain, of the smell of suncream and the warm, heavily perfumed evening air. I haven’t the slightest notion about perfume notes or sillage so I won’t embarrass myself by trying to describe White Patchouli in a technical sense, all that I know is that I love it. Apparently it contains white flowers and ‘sleek wood notes’. After a few hours it dries down to a floral but musky scent, which I’ve heard being described as too old-fashioned for many women but I do feel that it suits me. It does hark back to my childhood, but in a great way. I proffered my wrist to my boyfriend for a sniff, and he declared that he ‘thinks’ he likes it. That’s good enough for me. However, at €127 for 100ml, I think it’ll be sometime before I get to smell this divine again.

Another Tom Ford product was added to the Lust List today; his Lip Colour in Indian Rose
Image
This lipstick, to me, is the most beautiful neutral pink shade that a woman could ask for. The website states that this lipstick contains ingredients such as soja seed extract, Brazilian murumuru butter and chamomilla flower oil to ‘create an ultra-creamy texture with an incredibly smooth application’. And who am I to argue with that? Nobody likes a drying lipstick, that’s for sure. My collection is crying out for a nude lipstick but I often veer away from nudes which appear too beige or too pale. Indian Rose, however, seems to have the perfect amount of pink without straying into bold lip territory. As much as I would adore this for everyday wear, with its €46 price tag I’d be watching this baby like a hawk. It’s not beyond the realm of possibility, but I’d need a seriously good excuse!

Next up we have the absolutely gorgeous Ted Baker Glister Peep Toes
Image
These… just… wow. A lot of the high heels I have in my wardrobe are rather clunky platform affairs and, perhaps I’m getting old, but I’d love a really elegant shoe for special occasions. Pastels are a huge deal for Spring Summer ’14, but unfortunately I don’t feel that I have the colouring to pull it off head-to-toe. These stunning patent classics would be a stunningly ladylike way for me to embrace the trend without looking like a jaundice patient. And they come in mint green and black. The gold detailing at the tip of the heel and the very back at the shoe (click on the link above to see it properly) add a further touch of class.  It was love at first sight, I’m telling you. I’m still trying to find a way to drop €150 on these beauts but, where there’s a will…

Back on the beauty track, I really need Nars’ Narsissist Palette
Image
This stunning eye palette has only been available since the beginning of February and is already proving difficult to find. However, it is available from Nordstrom for the princely sum of €61.10. Not exactly a bargain but that’s definitely not what this post is about! This palette is becoming a firm favourite among beauty bloggers for its soft, blendable shadows and variety of cool and warm shades to cover all complexions and eye colours. Having a mix of mattes and shimmers is always a plus point. I only have one eyeshadow palette, Urban Decay Naked 1, and while it’s wonderful for night time smoky eyes, it is really too warm for me in terms of softer daytime looks. Surely that’s a completely valid reason to buy it, right?

Finally, to conclude my list for the time being, is the gorgeous Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Dim Light
Image
Photo Credit
This little compact might not look like much, but the beauty world has told me that this is a fantastic little finishing tool for blurring imperfections by using ‘photo-luminescent technology’ to diffuse light in such a way that your skin has that soft, hazy glow you might expect in candlelight. Or a dimly light bar, whichever. And it’s gluten free, in case that’s your preference for cosmetics. Now I haven’t the foggiest idea what photo-luminescent technology is, but if this powder can make me look as flawless as can be done, then I’d consider it £38 well-spent (make-up junkie logic right there). And if not, it’s still a fabulous looking product; the peachy toned powder looks like a thick, comfy pillow sitting in the compact. One day, Dim Light shall be mine.

Those are the contents of my Lust List, so far anyway. I’m sure it will be expanded everyday and you never know, maybe at some point in the distant future I might be able to cross off one or two things!

See anything you like?

Em xx

3 thoughts on “The Lust List

  1. Pingback: Springtime Wishlist | ilyanaroseblog

Leave a Reply

