The Blogger Made Me Buy It – Tag!

Hello lovelies! I spotted this tag over at Make Up Over Mind earlier today and, seeing as I’m in the mood for some procrastination, I decided to take up the challenge. Not that blogging about beauty is ever, ever a challenge for me. Since I’ve developed more than a passing interest in beauty and blogging, I’ve been bookmarking new blogs everyday. And yes, it has definitely led to an upsurge in my beauty spending!

1. Who are your most influential bloggers? Who are the ones you really rely on for reviews and swatches?
This list is growing exponentially! But I tend to trust some more than others when it comes to actually deciding to buy a product on the back of a blog review.
Buy Now, Blog Later is very influential for me. She reviews a huge selection of products and her swatches, FOTDs and photography are stunning. I really feel as though she knows what she’s talking about.
Make Up Over Mind is also another blog where I know I’ll get a great in-depth review of a product; she writes in a really detailed and informative way and does great swatches too.
I would buy every single product that Viva Adonis recommend. These two women really know cosmetics and they’ve informed me about so many new brands. 
Also, beaut.ie is a great site for reviews and swatches of newly released products and collections, and again, the girls seem to be very knowledgeable about beauty.

2. Do you buy a product solely as a result of one review from your favourite bloggers, or do you look around for more reviews from others?
It depends, really. Most of the bloggers I’ve mentioned above, I would trust them to accurately review a product. But when it comes to things like foundation or skincare, I tend to shop around as these products are often specific to a certain skin type so I prefer to get a few different perspectives on those. But when it comes to things like eye, lip and cheek products, a glowing review from one fantastic blogger could be enough to sway me.

3. What’s your most favourite item you’ve ever bought as a consequence of blogs?
Oooh, tough question. I would probably have to say my La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo, which I researched a lot before I decided to buy it. It seems to be a comfort blanket for my skin; if I yank it away, my skin throws a tantrum!
Another would have to be my NARS Sheer Matte foundation, which I also Googled like nobody’s business before I purchased it last week. I know  that my own review on it wasn’t too solid but it has really grown on me since.

4. What’s your least favourite item you’ve ever bought as a consequence of blogs?
To be honest, I’ve yet to be majorly disappointed by something I’ve bought due to blog recommendations. When it comes to skincare, I know now not to buy something that isn’t specifically for my skintype, even if twenty bloggers sing its praises. At a push, I’d say my Soap & Glory For Daily Youth Moisturiser, purely because it is possibly a tad too rich for my skin. I still love it because it makes me all glowy, but I’ve since learned that glowy = greasy over an extended period of time. I still use it as a night time cream, however.

5. Name five products you’ve recently bought as a result of blogs.
1. La Roche-Posay Micro-Exfoliant Lotion: I am in the process of overhauling my skincare routine so I was already in the market for some kind of toner/micro-exfoliant type-thing and this had such great reviews that I just had to buy it
2. Soap & Glory Scrub Your Nose In It – I’ve been reading rave reviews about this for a couple of years so eventually I caved and bought it. So far, no regrets!
3. Sleek Brow Kit – I had read a few reviews singing this kit’s praises and I’m really glad I heeded their advice. It’s a brilliant product and I would actually feel naked leaving the house without it.
Can I include prospective purchases here? I’ve been doing a lot of impulse-buying and researching afterwards… and I do plan on buying them in the next week!
4. Nars Radiant Creamy Concealer – This has been described as a Holy Grail concealer by too many bloggers for me to ignore. Come on payday…
5. Aussie Light Awesome Volume Deep Treatment Mousse – Emtalks reviewed its Mega Volume sister recently and I can’t wait to try out something to lift my hair at the front and crown, where it gets weighed down due to its own sheer heaviness. 

6. Have you ever given in to blogger hype?  If so, which hype?
Erm, possibly the hype over the L’Oréal Nude Magique Foundation which I reviewed myself and swooned over. It is a good foundation, just perhaps not quite deserving of the love heaped upon it, in hindsight. I actually plan to completely give in to the hype over Hourglass Ambient Lighting powders as soon as I can afford to! They look truly stunning and someday I hope to join the legions of bloggers who adore them.

7. Have you ever avoided blogger hype?  If so, which hype?
The whole Urban Decay Naked 3 mania last Christmas kind of passed me by. Once I saw the initial swatches I knew that, although it was lovely, it would do nothing for my brown eyes so that was that. Friend and bloggers alike were going nuts over it though, which I understand because it would suit Irish colouring. I have my Naked 1 though, and hope to someday acquire Naked 2. But no amount of blogger hype was going to make me part with €40+ for the sake of a cult product that was all wrong for me.

8. Is everything you buy based on blogger reviews or are there some items you buy without checking out a review?
It depends solely on price, really. Cheaper products are so easy to pick up in a shop and throw into the basket without worrying too much about whether it’s been reviewed favourably online. I often buy cheaper things on impulse, bring them home, Google some reviews and hope to jeebus that they’ve been recommended by someone else. But if a product is more expensive than about €15, I will consult my favourite blogs beforehand to see if they have rated it in the past. As I mentioned before, foundation is not something that I would buy on a whim, especially if it is a premium brand.

I hope that was interesting to read! Take that tag and run with it, bloggers!

Em xx

2 thoughts on “The Blogger Made Me Buy It – Tag!

Leave a Reply

