Beauty Blogger Tag!

Have you ever felt like blogging about something but you just don’t have the brain power to think of anything to say? That’s me today. So I Googled ‘beauty blogger tag’ and took the first one I found. Not really in the spirit of beauty tags, but let’s not dwell on that. Off we go!

 

1. Is your hair naturally curly or straight?
Curly, curly, curly. Even if I can be bothered to beat it into submission with a straightener, it doesn’t suit me straight anyway. Volume all the way, baby!
 
2. What is your natural hair colour?
A non-descript medium brown. I haven’t seen it in *gasps* eleven years! 
 
3. Do you dye it yourself or go to a salon?
Dye it myself, I hardly ever have the money to go to the hairdresser for colouring. It’s hard to justify too, considering I only get perhaps five weeks out of a colour before it needs retouching.
 
4. How often do you wash your hair?
Every other day, it gets greasy very quickly. If I wash it everyday it gets very dry, but leaving it longer than two days feels disgusting.
 
5. Do you wear the same style every day or change it?
I don’t have a particular style really; I tend to go for simple basics and wear different variations of those everyday. It’s neither girly nor masculine, old nor young. I do plan on investing in more classic, better quality pieces from now on though. So perhaps it’s changing very slowly.
 
6. Do you do your own mani/pedi or go to a salon?
I do my own. The last time I had a manicure was four years ago for my school graduation and it was a huge waste of money. One day. however, I will have Shellac done, out of sheer curiosity. 
 
7. How often to you change your nail polish?
Weekly; I work weekends as a waitress so I have to take it off on Saturday mornings anyway. They’re no fun in that place.
 
8. Do you polish your toes in the winter, too or just in the summer?
It tends to depend more on whether I’ll  be wearing peeptoe shoes anytime soon! But I guess summer time is more of a painted toenail season!
 
9. How long does it take to put on your makeup?
Ten to fifteen minutes on a rushed weekday morning, up to half an hour if I’m creating a fancier night time look. I love being able to take my time over my eye make-up but often, sleep wins out in the morning.
 
10. What do you do first? Face or eyes?
Face usually, unless I’m doing a particularly dark eye and I need to be able to correct any fallout before I start my face. I learned that lesson the hard way!
 
11. Do you “collect” makeup or just buy what you need when you need it?
A bit of both. Mostly the latter though, because I’m poor! But when I do need something, I try to buy the best version of it that I can.
 
12. How often do you wear false eyelashes?
Never, ever! I haven’t even tried to use them, and now the thoughts of them scare me a little. My lashes aren’t that fantastic naturally either. It’s just the fear of the unknown at this stage/
 
13. Do you do a full face of makeup every day?
No. For me, a full face is the works; primer, foundation, concealer, powder, blusher, bronzer, highlighter, lipstick, many eyeshadows, eyeliners (pencil and gel) and mascara. That is my going-out or special occasion face. For everyday, I wear all of the above except bronzer, highlighter, lipstick, eyeshadow and gel eyeliner (unless I have time to play around with). 
 
14. Do you wear makeup when you are home alone (or with family)?
No; my skin is acne-prone so I try to give it a break from make-up every now and then. Also, some of my make-up is too expensive to waste on study days in my pyjamas!
 
15. Will you leave the house without makeup?
Only if I’m walking the dog. Every other reason to leave the house warrants the usual daily make-up routine at least. I look far too haggard without make-up, I’d scare people.
 
16. How many high end products do you have?
At a guess, I’d say about ten; including Smashbox, NARS, Urban Decay, Estée Lauder and Illamasqua. Hopefully I’ll keep expanding that number.
 
17. How often do you wash your makeup brushes?
I’ve done it twice, ever. I ought to hang my head in shame. The second time was last week, and I’m delighted I did because they’re so much softer now. I was thinking of buying a new blusher brush as the one I had seemed to be applying blusher in thick streaks. But no, it was just filthy. I daren’t think of the germs they were harbouring. 
 
18. Do you plan your OOTD every night or decide when you are getting dressed?
For everyday, I don’t decide until the moment that I absolutely must get dressed.  The choice is usually dictated by what’s clean and how fat I feel. For special occasions, nights out, or visits to the boyfriend I usually decide in advance – up to a week in advance for something really fancy. 
 
19. How often do you change your handbag?
Twice or three times a year, perhaps. I have clutch bags for nights out but for everyday, my handbag doubles as my college bag. It takes perhaps six months for one bag to give up the ghost under the strain of laptops, purses, notebooks, phones, make-up, keys, food and other necessities.
 
20. What time do you get up & go to sleep?
I wake up anytime between 5:30am and 8am, depending on my schedule for the day. Sleep usually occurs between 10:30pm and 12pm. Rather conservative hours for a young person but such is my life!
 
21. How often & when do you workout?
Hardly ever, it’s terrible. I do walk my dog sometimes, does that count?! Also, I totally count busy days on my feet at work as workouts, so maybe I’ll go with twice a week 😉
 
22. Left-handed or Right-handed?
Right-handed but surprisingly good with my left too.
 
23. How tall are you?
5’1″. Still living in hope of a growth spurt.
 
24. Do you speak a foreign language?
I still have some French from secondary school, and snippets of Spanish from my failed attempt at a languages degree. I vaguely remember some Irish; technically it’s not a foreign language but it might as well be for me!
 
25. How many pets do you have?
One, a golden retriever named Archie. Absolutely nuts, with the mind of a puppy and the body of a small bear. Them brown eyes though.
 
26. How often do you blog?
I try to write a post every week, sometimes it doesn’t work out though. I’m hoping to have more time for my own blog and other projects during the summer holidays. 
 
27. Do you read the comments posted blogs?
Sometimes, depending on whether they’re interesting or not! 
 
28. Do you keep a list of products to try as you see other posts?
I keep a list on my phone. For every product I purchase from the list, I add about three more. It’s a growing problem, literally!
 
29. How did you come up with your blog name?
I actually found the Ilyana bit from a Na’vi name translator when I was trying to think of a handle for another site. Nerdy or what?! It’s pretty, and not unlike my actual name either. I’ve used it for other sites too. Rose is my middle name, another pretty one (thank you, parents). 
 
30. What kind of camera do you use for photographs?
I don’t own a camera yet, as much as I’d love one. The camera on my Samsung Galaxy SIII Mini has to do the job for now.
 
31. How often do you clean your house? (Daily, weekly, other)
It’s more of an ongoing thing rather than a timed clean-up. Mum and I are both pretty busy but we do bits and pieces as we go along. We are pretty neat though. 
 
32. What is your favourite colour?
Tough one! I like pinks and purples and blues, of all shades. Although I rarely, if ever, wear pink.
 
33. What is your favorite beauty/fashion magazine?
I hardly buy magazines, I prefer to read blogs and websites online. I like Harper’s Bazaar, Vogue and Cosmopolitan UK for fashion and the various blogs for beauty.
 
34. Do you swear?
Yeah, an awful lot. It’s directly proportionate to the amount of time I spend working and/or commuting.
 
35. What are you doing with the rest of your day?
Dinner with my parents and grandparents, then more relaxation. It’s a rare day off for me so I’m being completely lazy for the day. Absolute bliss!
 
I’d love to read other bloggers’ answers! Copy and paste, folks!
 
Emily xx
Leave a Reply

