My Morning Skincare Routine

20140326_205207

I’m sure I’m not the only blogger who finds daily skin routine posts endlessly interesting. I particularly enjoy these posts when they’re written by bloggers with a similar skin type to me, as I like to see which products they enjoy enough to use on a daily basis, and also how they use them. I won’t pretend to be an expert on skincare, but I thought I’d detail my skincare routine as I do feel as though I’ve hit on a formula that’s beginning to improve the condition of my skin. Anyone who has been reading my blog in the last couple of months will remember that I’m on a perilous quest to find a routine that will mattify, purify and de-scarify my skin (that’s totally a thing). Slowly but surely, I’m seeing results at last!

After I stumble from my bed, throw my hair back and hobble into the bathroom, I splash my face with water and massage in my beloved Ren Clearcalm3 Clarifying Clay Cleanser. It’s a soothing, rich cleanser that doesn’t dry my skin out. It’s also great in the shower as a mini-mask while I’m shaving my legs or something. Switching from the sinful Clean & Clear cleansers to this has done wonders for the general texture of my skin; baby-soft skin shall soon be mine!

My next step is a serum, my blemish-busting La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo (soon to be Duo+). This is essential as part of my skincare routine because if I don’t use it, within days my skin breaks out terribly. It’s fantastic at working beneath the surface of the skin to eradicate any potential eruptions before they can make their presence known. Also, the gel-like consistency means that it melts into the skin. Once I use up my tube of Duo I’ll crack into the Duo+ and hopefully my acne scarring will clear even faster.

Next up is moisturiser, and I’m back to Ren, with their Clearcalm3 Replenishing Gel Cream Before this, I was using a Body Shop Tea Tree Skin Clearing Lotion and my skin started to dry out a lot. However, the Ren moisturiser is a creamier, richer formula which feels nourishing and calming without sitting heavily on the skin. It absorbs slowly but thoroughly. I don’t mind too much as I like to let everything sink in for a few minutes while I eat breakfast, before I apply my make-up. However, I’ve got my beady eye on Avène Soothing Hydrating Serum for a lightweight but quenching option for the summertime.

Finally I apply a liberal amount of my Soap & Glory Puffy Eye Attack to my puffy, tired eyes. In the last year or so I’ve started to get terrible bags and shadows under my eyes (brought on by commuting, I tells ya!). I wouldn’t call this a miracle product but it cools my exhausted eye area and brings down the puffiness at least enough that eye make-up application isn’t too impeded. Anything that makes me look a little less haggard in the mornings is a must!

And that’s it for my morning skincare. For a time I was a little spot-treatment crazy, applying my La Roche-Posay Effaclar AI onto every breakout I had, as well as everything else. But then it dawned on me that I was actually slowing down the healing time of any spots I had which had passed their peak but were still visible. I was getting so frustrated at the fact that they were still there, so I lashed on the AI like there was no tomorrow. Then I realised that applying a drying spot treatment to a healing spot was completely counter-productive. Now I only apply it to spots that are still in the swollen, red phase and leave the others alone. The results have been pretty quick to materialise. Not only am I getting fewer spots, the ones I did have are now vanishing far, far faster.

My morning routine isn’t too complicated really, and most importantly it seems to be playing a part in clearing my skin of blemishes. Perhaps it’s a bit strange, but I enjoy this regimen as I honestly feel like it’s doing my skin good. The products I use are so lovely that it all helps to coax me out of bed in the morning. No mean feat!

Stay tuned for my night-time skincare routine 🙂

Em x

2 thoughts on “My Morning Skincare Routine

  1. Pingback: My Nightly Skincare Routine | ilyanaroseblog

  2. Pingback: The Last Hurrah? | ilyanaroseblog

Leave a Reply

