My Nightly Skincare Routine

20140326_205329

As promised, the follow-up to my Morning Skincare Routine Post. And this one is even more jam-packed; here’s hoping that nobody falls asleep reading it! As a side note, it never occurred to me just how many products I use on my face everyday until I photographed everything!

When I get home in the evening, be it from work or from college, the first thing I want to do is take off my make-up and cleanse the day away. As much as I love make-up, I don’t feel relaxed for the night until there isn’t a scrap of it left on my face. The Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water is a champion for getting every last bit of foundation off, and I never skip this step, no matter how tired or tipsy I am. The price point also can’t be beaten. Recently I also bought the Garnier 2-in-1 Make-Up Remover, which combines an oil and a cleansing water to gently clean off make-up. I bought it to tackle heavy, waterproof eye make-up as the micellar water isn’t amazing at shifting it. While it does an okay job, there was only so much I could get for a product that cost €2.50.

The next step is another cleanse, this time with the aforementioned Ren Clearcalm3 Clarifying Clay Cleanser. I wouldn’t feel properly clean having only used the micellar water, but the cleanser on its own won’t shift my make-up, so the two steps are pretty essential if I want to keep my skin uncongested. After that, I apply the La Roche-Posay Effaclar Astringent Micro-Exfoliating Lotion, nearly as a third cleansing step as often there is still some make-up visible on the cotton pad afterwards. Using this twice a day is too harsh on my skin, but once a day seems to keep things clean and fresh.

I follow that up after a few minutes with, again, my Effaclar Duo and Ren Clearcalm3 Replenishing Gel Cream. I’m planning to buy the bloggers’ favourite Body Shop Vitamin E Overnight Oil-in-Serum for a moisturising radiance boost perhaps twice a week. I’m very conscious of trying not to parch my skin, and I’ve noted a little dryness on the bridge of my nose that I’d like to tackle (even though it’s still oily at the same time?).

As a final step, I dab some LRP Effaclar AI on any emerging active spots, and sometimes a bit of Sudocrem on any particularly stubborn blemishes. I lather my lips in some Aloe Vera Vaseline and off to bed I go.

Also, two evenings a week, I use some kind of mask.
20140326_205406
Tuesday nights are reserved for a date with my Ren Glycolactic Radiance Renewal Mask. I’ve blogged before about this lovely, lovely product and the love affair is continuing. When I wake up on Wednesday mornings, I just know that my complexion will be plumped, brightened and evened out. I’m already dreading the day when it runs out! On Saturday nights, seeing as I’m rarely out on the tiles these days, I like to give my skin a deep cleanse with the Botanics Shine Away Ionic Clay Mask. I can’t say that it’s had any major long-term benefits, but the purifying sensation of a clay mask leaves my skin feeling wonderfully cleared out after a long week. For €9.99 a tube, it’s a lovely but affordable weekend treat. Following either mask, I spritz on my La Roche-Posay Thermal Spring Water (a complete gimmick but I care not) as it’s wonderfully cooling and I like to think it’s soothing as well. I then rub in plenty of my sample Ren Evercalm Global Protection Day Cream, for the extra hydration hit and its calming properties.

After all of that, it’s no wonder that I’m shattered every night!

Have you tried any of the products I’ve written about?

Em x

Leave a Reply

