Review: Revlon Colorburst Matte Balm

2014-04-01 18.30.50

Good evening bloggers! I’m pretty sure that most of you have heard of Revlon’s new Colorburst Lip Balms by now? Well I only managed to acquire one last Monday, just before my April beauty spending ban kicked in. And, despite being late to the party, I thought I’d give my take on these popular little crayons.

 As soon as I read the word ‘matte’ on any kind of cosmetics, I’m all over it because, given the oil-fest that is my face, I’m programmed to jump at anything that promises not to shine or gloss. Indeed, I really don’t like lipgloss. However, my lips can be on the dry side, and the Matte Balms excited me because they featured ingredients such as shea butter, coconut butter and mango butter to prevent the matte formula from parching the lips. So far, so good. The shade range is great for a drugstore product, which you can read about here. I picked up Audacious in a local pharmacy for €11.25 after spending forever in Boots trying to find one that wasn’t already tampered with. For a long time I had been lusting after NARS’ Velvet Matte Lip Pencils and, while may I still buy one yet, I just couldn’t spare €25 for one, when that price would buy two Matte Balms.

So here it is swatched, and you can see how reminiscent the packaging is to Clinique’s Chubby Sticks. I also love the fact that it has a twist-up function, rather than being a sharpener jobby:
2014-04-01 18.32.45For a balm, it’s very pigmented and the colour is so vibrant. I chose Audacious because I think it will be a great transition shade for spring/summer; orange is everywhere this season and also, it’s hugely flattering for sallow skins like mine. Application couldn’t be simpler; I applied mine to gently buffed and Vaselined lips without lipliner or primer. On a moving train, in fact. And I think I achieved quite a precise finish, considering!

2014-04-01 16.02.13(I’m loving my hair straight a lot more since I cut it!)

The shade is really flattering on me, although I think that a redder toned orange might have been more flattering against my teeth. But I don’t mind about that at all, I don’t have white teeth and probably never will! It tasted minty, which I loved, and the colour was easily buildable. Audacious is bright, no doubt, but I don’t feel that it was too wild-looking for daytime either. It stayed in place a good 3-4 hours without a touch-up, but it definitely needed reapplying after my lunch. For a balm and not a lipstick, I felt this was pretty good going. It doesn’t transfer onto everything either, thankfully.

However, one would need to have the smoothest, most flake-free lips going, in order for the Matte Balm to look completely perfect. By the end of the day, even though my lips didn’t feel dry in the slightest, there were tiny orange flakes all over them. Now they could have been super visible because of the neon-ish colour of the balm, but I do urge caution all the same. I am still waiting on my Escentual order to arrive (come oooooon), and when it does, I’m hoping that the Nuxe Rêve de Miel lip balm will sort out my dry lips. And, because it’s me, I will probably pick up the Lush Mint Julips Scrub as well, for the sake of completeness. And in May, because I’m not allowed to buy it yet. Nnngghh.

Overall, I’m pleased with the Matte Balm. It did what it set out to do, and I can see myself reaching for it a lot. I would like to pick it up in Elusive also; a neutral pink which would be lovely as a my-lips-but-better shade for days when I don’t feel like rocking a bold lip. For the price, I would gladly repurchase. However, it seems that I really need to sort out my lips first!

Before I sign off, I’d like to get some fellow bloggers’ opinions on well-priced cameras for blog images. My phone camera really doesn’t cut the mustard, but I’m hoping to be able to afford a camera in the region of €200-€250 (£165-£210) during the summer. Any recommendations?

Em X

4 thoughts on “Review: Revlon Colorburst Matte Balm

  1. Pingback: Lush Mint Julips Scrub | ilyanaroseblog

Leave a Reply

