Lush Mint Julips Scrub

Image

As you may remember from last week, I had something of a Lush spree when I picked up the lovely Cosmetic Warrior mask, which has been receiving a lot of love already! However, the purpose of that visit to Lush was actually to pick up the famous Mint Julips Scrub; a blogger favourite for sorting out chapped, flaky lips with ease.

The chunky little jar with the instantly recognisable Lush packaging cost me €6.95, which I found to be quite reasonable. You only need a tiny amount of this at any one time, so the price is definitely on-point. Containing all natural ingredients (except the last listed, flavouring), this is actually a joy to use. Caster sugar does the scrubbing work, while organic jojoba oil moisturises, peppermint oil invigorates, tagetes oil comforts and vanilla adds scent and stimulates the skin. The scrub smells a little sickly but it actually tastes delicious and can, of course, be licked off. To me, it tastes like After Eights, which I loooove!

My lips are soft, smooth and tingly after I use this, and those pesky flakes that plagued me when I wear my Revlon Colorburst Matte Balm are all but gone. Some might see this scrub as a bit of a faff or a gimmick but I don’t care. I know, I could easily make it myself. But I’m not much of an apothecary, and if I can have perfectly smooth lips for the next few months for less than €7, I’m happy to spend the money on this scrub. Also, I plan on purchasing the infamous MAC Ruby Woo lipstick soon and I need flawless lips so I can make the most of those killer red lips.

Whilst in Lush, I also picked up a small sample of the Hand and Body Lotion Charity Pot, for just €1. This is a thick, creamy lotion that spreads easily on the skin, soaks in quickly and leaves your skin soft and soothed. It contains, amongst other ingredients, cocoa butter, geranium oil, ylang ylang oil, almond oil and glycerine. I’ve been using it on my parched hands, which have seen way too much in the way of boiling water and washing up liquid. Even the redness on my knuckles has gone down, leaving my skin looking far more silky. It smells very strongly at first, but settles to a calming, sweet scent which, for some unknown reason, reminds me of primary school. In a nice way.

Do you enjoy Lush products? I’ve got my eye on their The Olive Branch shower gel and the Ultrabalm for next time!

 

Em X

5 thoughts on “Lush Mint Julips Scrub

  1. Ultrabalm is great! I really like using this product as an all purpose balm. It also lasts FOREVER! I have had mine for a while now and still have almost a full container. The Olive Branch is another one of my favorites… I adore the scent. I actually just finished a bottle of this! If you want to read more reviews about LUSH products that I have tried check out my blog at andreapuskar.wordpress.com! I would love to read your comments!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Burt’s Bees Almond & Milk Hand Cream | ilyanaroseblog

  3. Pingback: The one, the only, MAC Ruby Woo. | ilyanarose

  4. Pingback: April Beauty Favourites | ilyanarose

Leave a Reply

