Burt’s Bees Almond & Milk Hand Cream

Image

Look at that dinky little jar. Just look at it. I was sold, for the jar alone. It’s ridiculous!

I first read about Burt’s Bees Almond & Milk Hand Cream on The Sunday Girl quite recently, and my heart was captured by the little-but-large glass jar and cream detailing. It’s just so bloody cute. She seemed to really enjoy this Burt’s Bees offering, but I thought no more of it until I was browsing Avoca on Suffolk Street, and I wandered over to the Burt’s Bees stand. Lo and behold, that little vintage jar of loveliness was there. I handed over my €11.95 and left Avoca a very, very happy bunny (I’m so timely!)

I’ve never bought anything from Burt’s Bees before, so I was really intrigued to try the brand out for size.

Image

There’s a cow on the lid. A cow!

Almond and milk are two ingredients which, in skincare, brings thoughts of nourishment and moisture to my mind. The cream contains sweet almond oil, beeswax (naturally), kaolin, grapefruit extract, milk and glycerine, amongst others. The result is a wonderfully creamy formula that feels so rich on the skin. In the jar, the cream looks very hard, like coconut oil, and you think you’ll have to employ some serious elbow grease to coax it from the jar. Fear not, the cream has a melty texture and is very easy to rub in. It does leave a film on the skin, which is gradually absorbed. It’s probably not one to be used on-the-go, but as a night time pampering treat, it’s just divine.

Then there’s the scent. Oh my, it deserves a paragraph of its own. Almond-scented products always smell gorgeous, and this hand cream is no exception. It’s sweet but never sickly (unlike Lush’s Charity Pots), and reminds me of Battenburg Cake, which I adore and miss in equal measures (damn you, wheat intolerance). This is a beautiful treat for my skin, and for my nose.

After the film sinks in, you’re left with smooth, soft skin which you’d swear had never seen the depths of a kitchen sink. The presence of Vitamin E does wonders for repairing red, chapped skin. The hand cream will undoubtedly be a saviour for parched elbows, knees and other areas. I can’t wait to see it in action come winter time, when my hands will really need it. I can see that jar lasting a really long time, which is always a big plus.

Have you tried Burt’s Bees Almond & Milk Hand Cream?

Em X

4 thoughts on “Burt’s Bees Almond & Milk Hand Cream

  1. I have to agree with you. The packaging is phenomenal for this product! It is so adorable which intrigues you right away. I am excited to purchase this product in the near future. Hand creams, especially moisturizing ones, are a must in the winter months!

    Like

  2. Pingback: April Beauty Favourites | ilyanarose

Leave a Reply

