The River Island Summer Wish List

Image

The sun has tentatively started to shine on our fair isle, and the (slight) rise in temperature has got me thinking about rebooting my summer wardrobe. Last summer was, by and large, a scorcher in Ireland and, after I fell over from the shock, I realised I had no decent summer gear, thanks to an absence of sun holidays in recent years. But since my winter wardrobe was going to be completely unsuitable for everyday wear, and my parents had booked a holiday to Spain, I raided Penneys’ bikini section with earnest. This year, however, I will possibly be visiting my sister in Alicante, where she is going to be working this summer, and I’m raising my game for a trip to the sun with my River Island summer wish list.

Firstly, I am in love with these brown tortoiseshell sunglasses, €13
Image
I tried them on in-store and they really suit me. The vintage-style wayfarer frames are so stylish, and I find that tortoiseshell is a classic look that never dates. And €13 is a great price to pay for a pair of sunglasses! Although I tend to take care of my things, I won’t be too broken-hearted if these get a little bent out of shape in a beach bag.

Next is a pair of white plimsolls, €17
Image
Irish summers are often interspersed with cloudy, hazy days that are just a fraction too cold for sandals. Also, I don’t really enjoying getting my feet out unless it’s really warm outside. These Toms-imitation plimsolls would be lovely with rolled-up jeans, sundresses or shorts for a laid-back look. I own a navy and cream striped pair similar to these and they are the handiest things to have in your summer wardrobe.

Of course, we can’t speak of summer wear without mentioning a bikini; €37:
Image
I adore the luxurious plum/burgundy colour of this bikini, and the gold detailing is very sophisticated. Being a little well-endowed up top, I need a bikini top that can hoist things up – bandeau bikinis just don’t fly with me! The colour of this two-piece will also look incredible with a tan. My two Penneys bikinis are a riot of colour, so it will be nice to have a more subdued option in my collection.

Then there’s this maxi dress (€25)…
Image
Again, I adore rich colours and this wine number is a lovely way to incorporate them into a summer wardrobe. There’s something very luxuriant about a summer maxi dress; I would feel totally at ease in this, sipping cocktails at a beach side bar as the sun sets. Similarly, this could be thrown on over a bikini, or for a night in an Irish beer garden (the best kind of nights). The spaghetti straps are very cute and the drop waist detail gives it some shape. I’m also lusting after this tie dye maxi, which feels so bohemian.

Lastly, I think I’ve found the perfect pair of summer heels
Image
I know that these aren’t pastel, or midi block heels, or anything that’s very on-trend this summer. But they are metallic silver slingbacks, and I am in love nonetheless. Sometimes it’s hard to find a good summer heel; platform styles feel too chunky, black is too heavy and tan can look grubby. These are a little more delicate, but they still make an impact. Silver is an interesting alternative to the ubiquitous gold, and suntanned pins would look cracking in these. One of my favourite bloggers at Buy Now, Blog Later wears a silver court shoe from Asos and I’ve been looking for a similar pair ever since. Now that I’ve found them, I just need to find €95…

Have you seen anything you like? What will you be adding to your summer wardrobe?

Em xx

Leave a Reply

