Bourjois 123 Perfect CC Cream

Image

Good morning folks, I hope you’ve been having a relaxing and chocolate-filled Easter. My Easter Sunday involved waiting tables, pizza and wine for dinner, and finally tucking into my Easter egg at 9pm last night. Not an ideal Easter weekend, but that’s life. I did make €20 in tips, which of course is half the price of that Chanel foundation. Watch this space!

In the meantime, however, I’ve found a new base to rave about. Enter the much-loved Bourjois 123 Perfect CC Cream, currently retailing in Boots for €14.99. I know I’m really late to the party on this one, but I got there in the end, and I’m delighted that I did. As we all know, the purpose of a CC Cream is to correct any discolouration of the complexion, while providing a skin-friendly, medium base. Most CC creams are formulated to target a particular discolouration issue, such as redness, sallowness or hyperpigmentation. The beauty of Bourjois’ 123 Perfect is that it contains three pigments to tackle all of the aforementioned skin concerns; green to tackle redness, apricot for sallowness and white for dark spots. Add in some SPF 15, an oil-free formula and 24 hour hydration promises, and you’re on to something very intriguing.

Image

As you can see from my (slightly grainy) photo, the formula is quite thin and light. Pro-tip: try to store this lid-side-up as I find that the product can run out of the little nozzle if you’re not careful. I bought this in 31 Ivory, which is the palest shade and is just light enough for me. While I was lucky, 123 Perfect only comes in four shades, which do lean quite warm; pale, cool-toned complexions may be out of luck here, which is a shame. 

For comparison’s sake, here is my cleansed, toned, moisturised and primed face, pre-CC Cream:
Image
Despite being mostly sallow, I do have some redness around my nose and cheeks, and some under-eye shadows to contend with. They’re not too visible in the photo but I do have plenty of blemishes and acne scars to conceal as well.

And here I am post-CC, with no powder or concealer:
Image
The overall effect is a brightened, evened out complexion. A minute or so after application with my fingers, the red undertones are blurred away and my under-eye area looks illuminated. Being warm-toned, my skin is very prone to dullness when I’m tired, and the CC Cream did a great job of lifting my complexion and helping me look more awake. The coverage can be built to a comfortable medium; while not every spot and scar was concealed, I was still quite content with the coverage provided. I do apply concealer on my worst spots, but the coverage is still better than that of my NARS Sheer Matte Foundation.

The CC Cream gives a luminous radiance to the skin. I thought I’d never say this, but I love the dewy finish, especially coming into spring/summer. I’m normally a matte-all-the-way kinda girl, but the finish of the CC Cream is just gorgeous. I can see people of all skintypes being relatively comfortable with this; although dry skins will need to moisturise well to avoid any glaring flakiness, and oily gals will need primer and a light touch of powder. Having said that, do use a light hand with a blotting powder, to avoid covering up that radiant glow. While I don’t need any base product to provide 24h hydration, this is really comfortable to wear all day, and not at all drying. The lasting power is surprisingly good, even on my oily skin.

Image

Overall, this is a gorgeous base product for creating a brightened, evened out complexion. The coverage level and radiance are perfect for this time of year, the price is on-point, and I can see a light layer of this working great to create a flawless base for your foundation, if you favour a full coverage look. Many of us Irish women suffer from redness, although I have to contend with sallowness as well, and the 123 Perfect CC Cream is a lifesaver when your complexion needs perking up. Buy it!

Em X

3 thoughts on “Bourjois 123 Perfect CC Cream

  1. Pingback: April Beauty Favourites | ilyanarose

Leave a Reply

