Chanel Perfection Lumière Velvet

Image

I was so excited when I made my mind up to buy this foundation. Oh my, I nearly ran into Brown Thomas, purse in hand, ready to pounce on it. And when I finally got my hands on it, I couldn’t help constantly taking it out of the bag on the train home, just looking at it. But I wouldn’t let myself open it until I got home, because trains are manky and there was no way I was going to let it be tarnished by someone’s flu germs hanging around since January. No way, José.

 Perfection Lumière Velvet is  possibly Chanel’s most hyped new release this year so far. Replacing Mat Lumière Perfection (which admittedly never seemed to be as popular as the likes of Vitalumière Aqua anyway), PLV was released to warm praise from most beauty bloggers. Having read multiple reviews before I purchased it (I don’t spend €40 on just anything, you know!), I was really excited to see just how lovely it really was. And of course, that sleek black bottle with the minimalist white embellishment is just sooo tempting – as was the prospect of my first Chanel purchase.

As I mentioned earlier this week, my first time wearing PLV was actually courtesy of a Chanel MUA when I bought it. As lovely as that was, there’s nothing a beauty blogger loves better than getting to grips with a new product, so I couldn’t wait to try it out for myself.

Processed with VSCOcam

The shade I went for was Beige 10; the palest shade in the (somewhat limited) range. It’s quite warm-toned, which is perfect for my skintone. The little plastic bottle might not seem incredibly luxurious, but it’s actually quite handy as you can squeeze the perfect amount out of the little nozzle. Also, it’s very portable; no need to worry about glass bottles shattering in your bag. And anyway, I still think it looks chic.

Chanel states that PLV is a lightweight, ‘second skin’ foundation that evens out the complexion with a velvety matte finish. It claims to maintain radiance all day, diminish irregularities, smooth pores, reduce redness, even out dark spots… you get the picture. By the sounds of it, it’s a wonder product. Initially I was applying this with my fingers, as it is quite a runny formula, albeit nicely pigmented. But my skin is really acting up lately (more on that another time), and I just was not happy with the result. The finish was nice, but the texture of the skin on my cheeks looked awful, and my blush was patchy on top of the foundation. I didn’t give up hope though; last night I stuck on my Cosmetic Warrior face mask, and today things were looking a bit smoother. So far, so good.

One purchase I made a little while ago that’s been languishing in my make-up bag ever since is my Real Techniques Expert Face Brush. I could not make this brush work for me; rather than buffing the foundation into my skin, it just made it sit on top of my skin and settle into my pores. I had given it up as a bad job, but today it got another outing as I tried to create something good with my PLV. Lo and behold, the finish was smoother, more airbrushed and more pigmented. Hallelujah.

I will admit to cheating slightly; PLV simply does not provide full enough coverage to conceal my red nose. It’s not a full coverage foundation, and it was never meant to be one. So between primer and PLV, I dabbed some Bourjois 123 Perfect CC Cream on my nose and chin. My skintone now looked even, despite the fact that this was not down to the PLV.

Here is my full make-up look; reservations aside, I’m really pleased with the overall effect.

Processed with VSCOcam

The finish of PLV is undeniably beautiful and radiant. It brings a lovely luminosity to the skin, and the velvety texture is wonderful. The lasting power is pretty good, and my skin never feels clogged or oily while wearing it – the ‘second skin’ claims are true, in that regard. Now of course, I am wearing concealer, powder, blush etc. in the photograph; PLV is not enough on its own to cover my blemishes. Again, I didn’t expect it to. Still, it is worth noting, as it’s important to know what you’re getting yourself in for when you’re spending a lot on a foundation. Also, this foundation is heavily perfumed – not something that I mind, but many people aren’t so keen. The scent does not linger though.

Overall, my conclusion is a little mixed. PLV does not live up to all of its claims. The texture is lovely, it is very lightweight, it is longlasting, it does smooth pores (very well), and it makes my skin look really radiant. But it is by no means perfect – it’s not matte in the truest sense (oiliness will peek through), it does not cover redness, the coverage is not amazing, and dark spots are only concealed to a certain degree. Also, it will cling for dear life to dry patches, so a good skincare regime is pretty vital.

All of that being said, I do still really like it. A lot of the negative points I’ve mentioned are admittedly down to the fact that it is a sheer foundation. It was never going to cover every little blemish. And what it does do, it does really well. All in all, this isn’t a foundation I can just throw on, it takes a little more work to create a flawless finish. But this is not a foundation I intend to wear everyday, it’s a special occasion base to be used when I have the time to make it work. Put simply, I can’t afford to use it everyday, so I’ll take my time over it when I am wearing it.

Have you tried Perfection Lumière Velvet yet?

Em X

PS: I’m still in essay mode. Apologies for the long-windedness. And don’t forget to follow me on Twitter and Bloglovin’!

7 thoughts on “Chanel Perfection Lumière Velvet

  1. Totally agree Em! Although I wouldn’t hold it amongst my foundations with fantastic coverage, I really love the way it feels on my skin. I find it a bit difficult to buy products targeted to oily skin types that don’t feel as if you’ve slathered a layer of muck on your face. haha. Also, I’m ashamed to say, I genuinely think this may be one of the few foundations in my makeup stash that is fair enough for my pasty skin (I’m also Beige 10). haha. Almost an exact match!

    Faboosh Review! 🙂 x

    Like

    • You’re completely right, there is such a fine line between good coverage and heavy crap on your face! I hate feeling like my skin is suffocating?

      Yeah the Chanel feels gorgeous on the skin but it’s definitely a ‘good skin day’ foundation…which means I won’t be wasting it using it everyday 😛

      Beige 10 is actually a lovely shade, I’m so glad I found it 🙂

      Thanks Grace 🙂 x

      Like

  2. Pingback: April Beauty Favourites | ilyanarose

  3. Pingback: The May Wish List | ilyanarose

Leave a Reply

