April Beauty Favourites

Image

Good evening bloggers! Here’s a little round-up of my favourite beauty and skincare products for April. I’m a little early, but next week I’ll be in manic study mode, so I’ll be too busy watching Made in Chelsea to write this post – it’s a big one!

Starting with skincare, and I’ve really been loving my Nuxe Rêve de Miel Ultra-Nourishing lip balm. My lips always seem to be chapped, regardless of the weather or how much Vaseline I lash on fifteen times a day. But since I started using this, in conjunction with my Lush Mint Julips Scrub, my lips have been very content. I can go a full day now without feeling the need to put something on them,  until I go to bed and apply a layer of Nuxe before I sleep. The flakes and tightness are gone, and it tastes like lemon sherbert. Happy days.

Another little wonder product I’ve been enjoying is my Burt’s Bees Almond and Milk Hand Cream, which I reviewed in detail not too long ago. This is a gorgeous little jar to keep on your bedside table, and to apply liberally at night. I use this every evening before bed and my red, tight hands are so much softer and smoother. My waitressing job can be hell for my hands but this really calms and moisturises them. This will definitely be a lifesaver in winter, and the almond scent is absolutely divine.

My skin has also been thanking me this month for my Avène Soothing and Hydrating Serum, which I bought during the Escentual French Pharmacy sale. At first, I didn’t really know how this was benefiting my skin, if at all. It’s a light, water-based serum designed to inject moisture into the skin without being heavy or greasy, which it definitely does. But after a month of twice-daily use, my skin always feels hydrated and looks a little plumper, which is quite something considering how the college work has been piling up. It’s a lovely extra step in my skincare routine as it’s so cooling, which I can see being a bonus during the summer. The little glass bottle is also very pretty, and the pump dispenses the perfect amount for my face. An indispensable part of my routine.

Then we have something of an unsung hero in my skincare arsenal, my La Roche-Posay Effaclar Astringent Lotion. A run-in with an Avène moisturiser that my skin didn’t get on with left me with a bumpy, clogged, patchy complexion within a matter of days. That, coupled with PMS, left my skin in an utter state. I was at a bit of a loss as to how to fix it, until I remembered this toner. This is, obviously, quite astringent and tends to aggravate the dry patches either side of my nose, so I only used it when I cleanse after make-up. But my skin was in dire straits, so I’ve been using it twice a day without fail (avoiding dry patches) and those bumps are decongesting very nicely. My make-up is applying much better already and overall, things are getting back to normal. I won’t underestimate this little power lotion again.

Since I bought it, I’ve been wearing my Issey Miyake L’Eau d’Issey everyday. It is, as it happens, the perfect scent for the transition into summer time. It’s fresh and light, not at all cloying or sickly. I really enjoy wearing this, and I’ll even pop it on when I’m sitting at home studying, as a mood booster. I think I’ve sung its praises quite a lot already, but to me, it is that good.

Turning to cosmetics, and an unexpected make-up bag staple for me is definitely the Bourjois 123 Perfect CC Cream. Like many other beauty bloggers, I was pleasantly taken by surprise by how great this product is. In fact, it’s become my base of choice these days, with a slick of concealer and a little powder on top. The difference it makes to the complexion has to be seen to be believed; I never thought I’d be content wearing only a CC Cream instead of foundation, but there you are. I’ve also managed to make it work with my Real Techniques Expert Face Brush, so by that logic, it’s even morevalue for money. Buy it, I’m telling you!

Then, of course, I couldn’t write an April Favourites post without mentioning the beautiful Chanel Perfection Lumière Velvet foundation. As you may recall, I had my issues with this foundation initially. But I’ve figured out how to make it work and, with my skin clearing up, I’m loving it even more. To be honest, I think a lot of the enjoyment I get from this is down to the fact that it’s Chanel, which just screams luxury (even though their cosmetics are not actually the most expensive on the market). Wearing it just feels so luxe (i.e. fancy-pants). Then there’s that stunning velvet finish that I can’t see any other base delivering. This is a treat foundation; not for everyday, but when I do allow myself to wear it, I feel fantastic. And that, after all, is the entire point of make-up.

Which products have you been loving this past month?

Em X

PS Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter and Bloglovin’!

3 thoughts on “April Beauty Favourites

  1. Pingback: Avène Hydrance Optimale Light Hydrating Cream | ilyanarose

Leave a Reply

