FOTD #1 The Work Face

I’m not sure why I’ve never written a FOTD post before; I’ve often considered it, but I think I’m too busy rushing out the door most mornings to be faffing about looking for good light and trying out my (severely limited) angles. That being said, I love reading FOTD posts; Buy Now Blog Later‘s FOTDs are sublime, both for the products she uses and her photography. During the summer holidays I should have more time on my hands, so hopefully this will be the first of many FOTDs here.

I decided to start with a really basic look; something I’d wear to work if I had a little time to play with i.e. not a foundation-mascara-BAM-out-the-door kind of scenario. I do part-time waitressing and the bar where I work can get really stuffy as I’m rushing around the place trying to do five things at once. As such, I need my make-up to stay put for up to eight hours, and not to slide down my face come 4pm. The products I used today were chosen because of their longevity; I can count on them to keep me looking half-decent for most of my shift at least!

Image
Don’t you love my grey-once-white blouse? Very fetching.

Image

Primer: Rimmel Stay Matte
Foundation: NARS Sheer Matte Foundation in Gobi
Concealer: Collection Lasting Perfection in Light
Powder: Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder
Blush: Bourjois Lilas D’Or
Brows: Inglot 329 eyeshadow
Eyes: Urban Decay Sidecar (lid, inner corner), Urban Decay Buck (outside corner, crease, lower lashline)
Mascara: Lancôme Hypnôse Doll Eyes Waterproof
Lips: Nuxe Rêve de Miel Ultra-Nourishing Lip Balm

NARS Sheer Matte and I have a love-hate relationship. Ever since I first reviewed it, I haven’t really known what to make of it. It clings to dry patches and oxidises just a tad too much. On the other hand, the coverage looks cakey initially but far better a couple of hours, the lasting power is great and the oil control is pretty good too. I’m going to try to use it up anyway, but it’s not one I think I’ll repurchase.
I don’t often wear eyeshadow to work but on the off-chance I do, I tend to stick with neutrals. I skipped eyeliner to keep things simple, and the Urban Decay shadows in Sidecar and Buck (from Naked 1) gave a pretty hint of colour without looking too smokey for work. And of course, the formula is fantastic and longlasting, as with all UD shadows. 
Lastly, the Lancôme Hypnôse Doll Eyes mascara is new, courtesy of the one-day €10 offer on all Hypnôse mascaras from Debenhams to celebrate ten years of Hypnôse. I needed a new mascara and, well, how could a girl resist such a great offer? I really love this mascara; it gives really good length, the black shade is a true black, and it doesn’t smear or flake, even if I happen to forget to take it off before washing my face (it’s happened…). And the best part is that, despite being waterproof, I don’t have to tear my eyelashes out to get it off. Winning.

I know that wasn’t the most exciting FOTD but, being honest, I don’t have a very exciting life! But I promise that the next ones will be a little more creative 😉

Em X

Leave a Reply

