FOTD #2 – The Weekend Off

Another FOTD, errybody! I hope you’ve all been enjoying your weekend so far; we’ve had great weather here in Ireland in the last couple of days, which has really brightened people’s mood and now I feel like it’s finally summertime. This weekend I’m staying with the boyfriend, so I thought I’d throw together a little weekend off FOTD – seeing as they’re going to be rare as hen’s teeth for the foreseeable future.

Image

I even did my hair all fancy. Clearly I don’t get to dress up enough.

Image

Primer: Rimmel Stay Matte Primer
Foundation: Chanel Perfection Lumière Velvet in B10
Concealer: Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer in Fair
Powder: Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder
Blush: Bourjois Lilas D’Or
Brows: Inglot eyeshadow in 329
Eyeshadow: Urban Decay Sin (inner corner, lid), Inglot 376 (outer corner, lower lashline)
Eyeliner: Benefit Bad Gal Waterproof Liner in Black (waterline)
Mascara: Lancôme Hypnôse Doll Eyes Waterproof
Lips: Rose Vaseline

This is on the ‘slightly fancy but not super fancy’ end of things, for me at least. When I have the time, and somewhere nice to go, I love to play up my eyes with a daytime-appropriate smokey look, and then leave my lips simple with a slick of pink Vaseline. This look is actually really easy to throw together, especially seeing as my arch-nemesis in my make-up bag, liquid eyeliner, didn’t feature. I used my lovely Chanel foundation seeing as it was the weekend, and a weekend off counts as a special occasion in my book. My bases are rarely overloaded with highlighter and bronzer, but with summer creeping in, I think some bronzer action may be necessary, once I get my hands on something pretty.
For my eyes, I went for a kind of dusky pink look, which is a departure from my usual browns and golds. Sin is from the Naked Palette, and I don’t often use it, but found it worked really nicely against the grey-blue Inglot shadow 376. Pink eyeshadow is not something I thought would work with brown eyes, but the blue-grey kept things cool and smokey.
I used my oft-neglected Bad Gal eyeliner purely because I couldn’t find my MAC Engraved Power Point Eye Pencil. I bought the Benefit one first, and I thought it was the bees’ knees compared to whichever Rimmel one I’d been wearing until that point. But to be honest, it’s not fantastic. Waterproof it is not; it ends up everywhere except my waterline after a couple of hours. The MAC liner, however, is my all-time favourite pencil liner and the stub will have to be prised from my hands when it bites the dust. It’s blacker than black, and puts up a brave fight to whatever make-up remover I use.

So that’s my second FOTD post; do you ever fancy things up with your make-up at the weekend?

Em X

Leave a Reply

