Aussie Blog Awards 2014

Image

Good afternoon ladies and gents, time for some Sunday afternoon blogging, I think! At this time on a Sunday I’m usually at work, counting down the minutes to hometime but not this weekend; I’m off and I’ve really made the most of it. My weekend actually began very pleasantly when a fantastic parcel arrived for me from Aussie Haircare, including the Miracle Moist Shampoo and Conditioner, the 3 Minute Miracle Shine Deep Treatment and the Dual Personality Volume + Gloss Hairspray. I’ve been stuck in a bit of a haircare rut lately, so this little stash has shaken things up nicely. Aussie is available virtually everywhere, and is really reasonably priced for the quality of the products. I’ve really been enjoying the bits and bobs I’ve been sent, and my hair is definitely feeling the benefit.

 

Image

My hair, being curly, is prone to dryness if it even looks at a hair straightener for too long. Lately, my hair has been on the parched side of things, but thankfully hasn’t succumbed to split ends just yet. Until my next trim, the Miracle Moist Shampoo and Conditioner are great for rehydrating my hair and staving away the dreaded rats’ tails until my next trim. Both are infused with Queensland Macadamia Nut Oil, a known saviour for dry hair, and both smell absolutely delicious. The shampoo lathers up really nicely, so you don’t need to use half a bottle in thick hair like mine. The conditioner is quite light for a moisure-rich formula but really softens my midlengths and ends without weighing them down. Another bonus is that the shampoo bottle contains 50ml more than the conditioner; for anyone like me who hates running out of shampoo before conditioner, this is OCD heaven!

 

Image

I’ll admit to being super lazy when it comes to hair treatments; by the time I’ve brushed and sectioned my unruly hair, I’m ready for a sit down. The handy thing about the 3 Minute Miracle Shine Deep Treatment is that you can use it in the shower instead of your usual conditioner, and it only takes 1-3 minutes to get to work. It contains Australian ginseng and pearl, which nourish and soothe your hair into shininess once again. My hair is, on the whole, in okay condition, but it’s been looking rather dull lately. This treatment has really brought back some of its healthy shine and leaves my hair really soft. For lazy girls like me, this is a brilliant way to cheat your way to luscious hair. I would recommend rinsing well though; I was rushing my shower the other day and ended up with a patch of 3 Minute Miracle still left in my hair which I only discovered while styling. But that was probably down to my poor time management than anything else! Also, that gorgeous tropical scent sticks around in your hair for hours afterwards 🙂
The Dual Personality Volume+Gloss Hairspray was a welcome addition to my dressing table, as my old can of Elnett is looking pretty tired. This contains sea kelp to deliver volume and shine, and definitely feels very summery. I already own the Dual Personality Texturising and Conditioning Gel Spray, which is great for adding texture to a fringe before blowdrying, if you’re not a fan of sleek, ‘done’ hair – and it also contains sea kelp. The hairspray, again featuring a great scent, delivers great hold without feeling sticky. I threw my hair upside down and lashed some of this in, and when I flipped my hair back, it was big. I looked like something from Mad Men, which definitely is not a bad thing. My hair looked shiny and voluminous for my night out on the tiles, which is exactly what I was expecting from a Volume + Gloss hairspray!

 

The last thing I found in my little parcel was an invitation to enter the Aussie Blog Awards 2014, in conjunction with Her.ie, a great fashion,beauty. lifestyle and celebrity news website for Irish women. Irish bloggers have a great chance to get their work recognised and shared, which can be difficult in larger, UK-based competitions. I’ve never entered a proper blog awards before, but I thought I’d give it a go and see where it takes me. I’ve entered in the Most Aussome Beauty Blog and the Most Aussome Newcomer categories, and if you’re feeling a little generous, you might nominate me here if you like! For my contact details, just thrown in my email address, ilyanaroseblog@gmail.com. I’m definitely not expecting to win, but if you’re not in it… 😉

 

Have you tried any Aussie products before? Have I tempted you to wander into Boots? 

Em X

 

One thought on “Aussie Blog Awards 2014

  1. Pingback: May Beauty Favourites | ilyanarose

Leave a Reply

