An Ode to CORALista.

Image

I wish I had a photograph of an untouched, pristine Benefit CORALista blush to show you, alas; I do not. Mine has been oft-worn, well-loved and carted around the country and beyond in hold-alls, suitcases and handbags. CORALista first entered my life when, aged 19, I wandered into Debenhams in Meadowhall, Sheffield, with a summer’s worth of wages in my purse and a taste for all things expensive. I was largely ignorant of high-end cosmetics at the time; all I knew was that I could finally afford something vaguely expensive, and that Benefit was the answer. Trotting out of Debenhams with CORALista (and the Big Beautiful Eyes Kit) in my bag, little did I know that I’d unearthed the beginnings of a very spendy habit.

CORALista is a beautiful peachy-coral blush with hints of pink, shot through with subtle golden shimmer. The Rio-fabulous cardboard casing makes it a dressing-table accessory. This blush is incredibly flattering, whether I’m a little pale and wan and in need of a complexion boost, or bronzed to oblivion. I’ve always gravitated towards peach and coral blushes as they really seem to compliment and lift my warm-toned skin, but CORALista is, hands-down, my absolute favourite. 

Seeing as I hit pan quite a long time ago, I decided to put CORALista into semi-retirement, saving it only for special occasions. Then I kind of forgot about it, as I tried out new, and ultimately inferior, blushes. Sleek’s Blush in Coral seemed like a somewhat acceptable, and definitely cheaper, replacement. Other options, such as Bourjois’ Lilas D’or, also made an appearance. And they seemed to be okay. Then, quelle surprise, the skin on my right cheek broke out really badly about five days ago (which I think is something of a purge while I’m trying out a new cleanser), and now I’m sporting  a series of red dots and bumps all over my cheekbone area. So attractive. Both my Sleek and Bourjois blushes highlighted these spots terribly, magnifying every little blemish and undoing half an hour of concealer work. Ugh. Then, I remembered CORALista.

Image
Y
eah, I wear this shirt possibly a bit too much.

I was a little worried that CORALista’s shimmer might create the same problem but I needn’t have been apprehensive at all. A light dusting gave me a lovely coral glow that blurred those spots, giving my make-up a flawless finish. What I love about CORALista is that it’s not extremely pigmented so you can build up the intensity without accidentally giving yourself racing stripes. I know that the above photograph isn’t fantastic, but my blemished cheek is the one facing the camera and it looks perfectly fine; also I think you can see the gorgeous peachy glow of the blush. The other products in my base were Smashbox Photofinish Light, Chanel Perfection Lumière Velvet, Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer and Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder.

Overall, while I’m a big proponent of all things budget, I think that sometimes it is worth splashing out on a superior formula. Benefit blushes are not cheap, typically hovering around the €34 mark, but the quality is really fantastic, and they have a shade to suit everyone. Creating a good base is really easy if you can get your hands on the right tools, and for me, CORALista is definitely one of them.

Do you like Benefit blushes? Ever tried CORALista?

Em X

PS: If you are so inclined, I would be extremely grateful for a nomination in the Aussie Blog Awards 2014, for Most Aussome Beauty Blog and Most Aussome Newcomer. Nominations can be made here, and I’d love you forever!

6 thoughts on “An Ode to CORALista.

  1. Pingback: FOTD #3 | ilyanarose

  2. Pingback: La Roche-Posay Effaclar Foaming Gel | ilyanarose

  3. Pingback: May Beauty Favourites | ilyanarose

Leave a Reply

