FOTD #3

Well I promised some more FOTD posts, so I guess I ought to stick to it!

Image

Yesterday I wasn’t really in the mood for a statement eye, so I thought, in light of my previous post on lipstick, I’d raid the stash and see what captured my interest. Lo and behold, MAC Hang Up caught my eye. However, it is indisputably summertime, and sometimes a deep lip can feel a bit ‘heavy’, especially seeing as I was going to taking a bus journey and the weather was meltingly warm. So rather than lacquering my lips with lipliner and lipstick, I allowed some lipbalm to sink in before dabbing on Hang Up with my fingertip. While a tiny bit of refining was needed to avoid looking like I’d simply attacked a punnet of blackberries, the end result was a purply-red stain that was just deep enough to be noticeable, while not so bold as to look out of place for daytime. In real life, the effect was a little more purple than the photograph suggests, but I think you can see the difference it made compared to my normally anaemic natural lips (see here). The ‘stain’ lasted well during the day, although it did need retouching after eating and drinking.

The rest of my face was kept quite simple and understated; I skipped all eye make-up bar mascara to allow the lip to stand out.
Primer: Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Light
Foundation: Chanel Perfection Lumière Velvet in B10
Concealer: Collection Lasting Perfection in Light
Powder: Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder in Transparent
Blush: Benefit CORALista (my new addiction)
Brows: Inglot Eyeshadow in 329
Mascara: Lancôme Hypnôse Doll Eyes Waterproof
Lips: Nuxe Rêve de Miel Lip Balm, MAC Hang Up (Cremesheen)

I really like this look as an alternative to a statement eye or a bold lip; Hang Up delivers a gorgeous wash of colour without looking too ‘done’. It’s a super easy way to brighten up a simple look without faffing around with lipliner or worrying about constant touch-ups. This is definitely an FOTD to keep in the arsenal!

 

Also, a certain piece of tech finally became mine yesterday:
Image
Meet my brand new Fujifilm Finepix S4700; yet to be graced with a pet name (any suggestions? I’m thinking Martha). Sure it’s no Canon DSLR but I really don’t care; its 16 Megapixels and 28x Optical Zoom are miles away from my phone’s 5mp camera. I also got it for a brilliant price from a lovely photography shop in my town; I really couldn’t be happier with it! Now to get home so I can see how the photographs actually turn out…

 

Em X

Leave a Reply

