Budget Buy Alert: Essence All About Matt! Fixing Compact Powder

Image

This is possibly the most un-glamorous product I own, and the least exciting review I’ve written, but hey ho.
Last week my Catrice All Matt Plus Shine Control Powder shattered into smithereens in my handbag – the usual. Rather than wait for the inside of my bag to end up caked in powder, I grabbed this Essence offering from a stand in Penneys. The fact that I’ve never tried a truly translucent powder, plus the lure of the €3.49 price tag, made the choice pretty simple.

Image

Essence All About Matt! Fixing Compact Powder is, quite simply, a fine compact powder designed to mattify and set make-up, for a ‘matte, natural and smooth complexion’. There’s nothing fancy about this powder, or the bright plastic packaging for that matter, but this makes it ideal for on-the-go touch-ups. Personally, I go through powder compacts much quicker than any other cosmetics, so if I can find something cheap and cheerful that keeps shine at bay, I’m happy.

Image

The powder is very fine, and it’s easy not to overdo it as there isn’t a tonne of fall-out. I was worried I might end up with a bit of an Angelina situation but once it’s applied, the powder is completely undetectable. It mattifies any dewiness in your foundation without looking powdery (as tinted powders tend to do). I can’t say that it has any complexion enhancing effects, neither does the powder accentuate blemishes or enlarged pores. The best thing about it is that my skin has never stayed as matte for so long; I hardly feel the need to touch it up at all during the day. And this, as my shiny-faced friends will agree, is something.

I’m not sure about the availability of Essence products outside of Ireland, but I know that we can definitely get our mitts on them in Penneys and plenty of chemists around the country. While this powder doesn’t perform any skin-perfecting witchery, it sets and mattifies foundation like nothing else I’ve tried. At such a great price, I can’t see myself looking elsewhere….yet!

Em X

3 thoughts on “Budget Buy Alert: Essence All About Matt! Fixing Compact Powder

  1. Pingback: I’ve got a lovely bunch of… | ilyanarose

Leave a Reply

