I’ve got a lovely bunch of Coconuts…

Image

I take back what I said in my previous postthis has got to be my most un-glamorous post to date. The beauty world is currently abuzz with the virtues of coconut oil and its many, varying properties. Being as easily swayed as I am, I had to try it out for myself. It took me a little while to find some reasonably priced coconut oil; absolutely anything can react with my skin, so I didn’t want to spend too much on something that may or may not upset that precarious balance. There are 400ml jars of it in Holland & Barrett selling for €18.99, which I may invest in if coconut oil does work for me. But for now, I’m happy to try out these €1.99 jars from the Foods of the World section in Tesco. Never let it be said that I don’t know how to spot a bargain!

Image

I’m not sure what the differences are between pure, raw, virgin and extra virgin coconut oil (or any permutations of such), but we’ll see soon enough whether my plain little jars of pure coconut oil are actually effective. I wasn’t expecting it to be so solid; I thought I’d at least be able to scoop it out with my fingers, but a teaspoon was required (whipping it from cold apparently helps, though). Once in your hands, it begins to melt straightaway (mind it doesn’t trickle down your arms…) and you’re left with thick, transparent grease. I was a little disappointed that mine doesn’t smell deliciously of coconut, but the absence of scent is better than a rancid one. I’ve used it as a first cleanse to lift my make-up and it performs admirably, I have to say. I massage it in and then rinse off with a hot facecloth, simple. It even made light work of my waterproof mascara – very impressive! Although, I don’t recommend getting it into your eyes. Hours of mild discomfort lie ahead if you do.

The uses and properties of coconut oil are seemingly endless: cooking, smoothies, oil pulling, deep moisturising, hair treatments, cleansing, face masks, nappy rash, mild burns and cuts, even SPF4 (although I wouldn’t trust this one, to be honest). It’s like a modern day, edible Sudocrem-slash-Savlon. I’m definitely going to be slapping it onto any split ends, and trying it out on that little patch of dermatitis/psoriasis/whatever at the front of my scalp, which usually only responds to expensive over-the-counter treatments. I’m interested in seeing how it gets on with my spotty, sore skin when used as part of a homemade mask mask every now and again, due to its apparent healing antibacterial properties. And I’ll probably reach for it when shaving my legs too!

If the coconut oil doesn’t live up to the hype, I won’t cry over a wasted €4. But, judging from everything I’ve read about it so far, I doubt I’ll be disappointed. Stay tuned!

Em X

5 thoughts on “I’ve got a lovely bunch of Coconuts…

  1. Pingback: Nuts for Coconut Oil | ilyanarose

Leave a Reply

