Clarins Gentle Exfoliator Brightening Toner: First Impressions

Image

My apologies for a slight lack in posting recently; a spot of blogger’s block combined with tiredness are to blame. Regardless, I’m back, and I have a big list of reviews and photographs to arrange into some semblance of order 🙂

And yes, I finally invested in the spotty girl’s Holy Grail product, the Clarins Gentle Exfoliator Brightening Toner. As anyone who’s been reading this blog somewhat regularly will remember, this has been sitting on my wishlist for a couple of months but I’d somehow never gotten around to parting with the cash. Ten days ago I finally took the plunge and, having used it every night since, I think it’s time for a little first impressions chinwag.

Image

 

The Clarins Brightening Toner is another variation of the chemical exfoliator beast, designed to gently slough away dead skin cells to reveal a fresher, clearer complexion. According to Clarins, it uses extract of tamarind to banish flaky, dead skin cells, and white nettle to refine enlarged pores. Many a beauty blogger has raved about this skincare classic for its renewing properties, putting an end to acne scarring and dullness – two of which my skin is abundant in. 

As I said, I’ve been using the Clarins Brightening Toner every evening after my usual cleanse, applying it liberally with a cotton pad. It smells really pleasant, almost fruity, and has an odd consistency – not ‘wet’ like water, but far more fluid than a cream or lotion. As with all AHA-based products, it’s really important to avoid the sun for the next eight hours after using the toner, and to use SPF when one does venture out. I’ll admit to not being the most diligent when it comes to SPF but I will try harder from here on in!

Naturally, it’s going to take at least a month for me to see any real difference in my complexion from using this toner, as is the case with most skincare products. However, I am beginning to notice some promising changes, which, if anything, affirm my decision to fork out! Firstly, it’s hard to not notice the instant brightening effect the toner has on the complexion; my skin looks brighter and perkier literally as I apply it. My skin is definitely becoming softer in texture too; a big plus as it’s been riddled with little bumps along my jawline, which are slowly subsiding. The slightly flushed appearance in my cheeks is reducing too (hopefully the nose will follow). And best of all, any spots I currently have are healing over and fading at a far faster rate than they ever have. Little spots that had been lingering under the surface are finally coming to a head and then disappearing just as quickly. I’m pretty confident that, as time goes on, my scarring will be all but gone. And that, my friends, is totally worth €31.

I’ll keep you updated as I continue to use the Clarins Brightening Toner and, hopefully, I’ll be just as enthused about it in the future as I am now. Based on what I’ve seen so far, I’d thoroughly recommend this little wonder product to anyone whose complexion is in need of a really big boost. My skin is able to tolerate nightly use but those with more sensitive or dryer skin may need to limit it to 1-3 times a week. As with anything, your skin will dictate its own pace. But hopefully you’ll love it as much as I do!

Have you ever tried skincare from Clarins? Let me know in the comments!

Em X

 

3 thoughts on “Clarins Gentle Exfoliator Brightening Toner: First Impressions

  1. Pingback: Clarins Everlasting Foundation | ilyanarose

  2. Pingback: Another Clarins Love-In | ilyanarose

  3. Pingback: June Beauty Favourites | ilyanarose

Leave a Reply

