Clarins Everlasting Foundation

Image

Another day, another foundation review. This purchase was borne out of a desire for a foundation which offered decent coverage while not masking my face entirely.  Full coverage is all well and good, but summer is in full swing over here, and the last thing I want to do is plaster on the slap like I would in the middle of winter. Continuing my Clarins love affair, I first researched their Ever Matte Foundation before deciding its coverage may not be up to the task, and looked into their Everlasting Foundation instead, which promised higher coverage and a long-lasting formula. At first glance, this is pretty reminiscent of a certain Estée Lauder number, but Clarins Everlasting Foundation is a different beast.

Image

The packaging is stunning;a real dressing table piece, with the frosted glass bottle and gold lid. Sure, it’s not one for tossing into the handbag but it feels weighty and substantial – not a bad thing for the €31 price tag. Also, there is a pump, rather than a fiddly open-necked bottle. Rejoice.

Image

After some humming and hawwing, I plumped for the shade 105 Nude. Kudos to Clarins for a decent shade range on the paler end of things; ordinarily I would find the palest shade in a particular foundation to be the tiniest bit too dark, but 105 is actually the second-palest, with 103 Ivory being truly pale. For someone who is sallow and tans quite well, my usual skintone is surprisingly pale. 105 Nude is a great match for my white-ish jawline, with the perfect amount of both yellow and peachy warmth.

Image

Clarins Everlasting Foundation makes quite a few claims, which are largely true, I’m pleased to say. As well as what’s mentioned in the above photograph of the classic red box, it promises 15 hours of ‘impeccable coverage and total comfort’, using a ‘high-fidelity system’ to leave an invisible veil on the face, setting the foundation for even, long-lasting wear. And as if that wasn’t enough, ‘Clarins’ exclusive Light-Optimizing Complex instantly captures, diffuses and magnifies light. Fine lines and small imperfections are visibly minimized and the complexion appears even and luminous’. So there you go.

I can’t vouch for any fancy-pants technological gimmicks, or state for certain that they actually work. All I can tell you is that this is a lovely foundation to wear. The finish is something I’ve never seen in a foundation; it’s not a flat matte, more of a satin matte of the kind I’ve never seen before. It gives the skin a soft, supple appearance and it is incredibly flattering, even on problem skin. In fact, my boyfriend noticed the difference it made, judging by his ‘You face looks nice’ comment in the cheese aisle at Tesco. And they say romance is dead.

The coverage is medium-full, which I’m pretty happy with. Concealer is necessary, but that goes without saying when you’ve got skin like mine. The real selling point here is a decent level of coverage that doesn’t blot out any natural radiance; a tough balance to strike. Wear-time is pretty decent, with primer. It does tend to separate around my nose after maybe 7 hours, but it’s nothing a little powder won’t fix. Shine does tend to show through, which is worth noting if you’re after a true matte finish. For an Everlasting Foundation, there is a pretty substantial amount of cleansing to be done at the end of the day. Mission accomplished, I’d say.

The photographs I took don’t really do justice to the gorgeous finish of this foundation. Trust me though, it’s lovely. Also, I was pretty tired that evening, and rushing out the door for dinner with the parents; hence the odd expressions.

Primed, sans foundation.
Image

Foundation only, no concealer etc. I’m pretty in love with this shade, I must say.
Image

Full face, including wonky eyeliner. Oh, well.
Image

Have you ever used Clarins foundations before? Which is your favourite foundation for summertime?

Em X

4 thoughts on “Clarins Everlasting Foundation

  1. Pingback: Another Clarins Love-In | ilyanarose

  2. Pingback: June Beauty Favourites | ilyanarose

Leave a Reply

