La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo[+]

Image

La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo[+] has gained cult status since its release, with beauty bloggers singing its praises like nothing else. And when I first tried the original Effaclar Duo, I too was really impressed with how brilliantly it helped my congested skin. A short spell over winter last year when Effaclar Duo was absent from my life led to a god-awful breakout, but it was soon soothed once I reintroduced Effaclar Duo to my skincare regime. I’d been using it twice a day since, until I went to repurchase it, and found Effaclar Duo[+] in its place. Not only did it promise the pore-unblocking powers of the original, it also claimed to fade acne scarring too. Sold? Yes I was.

Image

The basic premise of Effaclar Duo[+] is to unclog pores, reduce shine and refine the skin’s texture, all the while being suitable for sensitive skin. It contains that wonderful spot-fighting ingredient, salicylic acid: a great thing to look for in acne-related skincare. The packaging is clean and hygienic, with a tiny nozzle to ensure minimum contamination. A tube of this, costing roughly €17-€20 (depending on where you shop), lasts me about three months or more of twice-daily use. In that regard, it’s pretty good value for money.

Image

Effaclar Duo[+] has a thin, white serum-type formula that sinks into the skin almost immediately. If your skin isn’t too oily, it would make a great primer as it gently mattifies the skin. The scent is difficult to describe; all I can say is that it smells typical of French pharmacy products, pleasant without being overly perfumed. Although it is supposed to be suitable for sensitive skin, I have found it to sting particularly bad spots, and my skin is fairly robust. That being said, I use it as much as I brush my teeth, so there is always scope to use it on a less regular basis if it’s a little harsh.

I think the most important thing to understand when using Effaclar Duo[+] is that it’s not an overnight skin fixer. It’s not going to clear up any active spots, so don’t be disheartened if you don’t see results instantly. Instead, it seems to work deeper in the skin, combatting those red, painful cystic spots that seem to cause the most havoc and take the longest to heal. Give it a month to let it do its thing before you write it off. I still get the odd mini-Vesuvius around that time of the month but, on the whole, it keeps the ugliest feckers at bay. I still get plenty of congested pores but my skin is a very difficult beast at the best of times, and I’d imagine that most people would see a great improvement in their skin using Effaclar Duo[+] regularly. I mostly keep using it out of fear of the consequences of forgoing it; I did it once and it was bad enough not to let it happen again! Unfortunately the [+] aspect of Duo is where it falls down for me; my acne scars haven’t really faded at all in the few months since I began using this. It’s a bit disappointing but I understand that these things don’t heal overnight. I’ll keep up Effaclar Duo [+] anyway, because it’s an effective element in my overall routine, and I could end up seeing results eventually!

Overall, I definitely would recommend Effaclar Duo[+] to anyone with problem skin. We’re all different, and I can only give my opinion based on my experience, but it’s absolutely worth a trial. 

Have you tried the Effaclar range before?

Em X

4 thoughts on “La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo[+]

Leave a Reply

