Another Clarins Love-In

Image

Image

One thing I love about buying new beauty products is the prospect of a few samples being thrown into the bag alongside your new purchase. Call me a cheapskate, but I find samples to be a really great way of trying out new products you might not otherwise have bought. If you love it, you can think about buying it full-size. And if you don’t, at least you had a chance to trial it without having to fork out for it. It’s win-win, really! Along with the purchase of Clarins Gentle Exfoliator Brightening Toner and the Clarins Everlasting Foundation (both of which I’m still loving), I managed to accumulate a small mountain of samples, and a free gift from the brand. In the last couple of weeks I’ve been trialling quite a few of these dinky samples, and I thought I’d share my opinions thus far 🙂


Water Comfort One-Step Cleanser with Peach Essential Water – If you’ve ever wished for your face smell of peaches, this is the way to do it. Essentially a scented micellar water, this performs exactly as expected. It takes off your make-up fantastically, smelling luscious as it does so. I can’t see myself splashing out on this as I have far cheaper, and just as effective, options at home. Nevertheless, it is a lovely little product to use.

Pure Melt Cleansing Gel with Marula Oil – With this cleanser, it’s love. I’ve been hooked on this ever since my Mum started buying it years ago (I promise I haven’t been pinching it too much, Mum!). The gel to oil to milk formula is utterly luxurious, leaving the skin soft and cleansed. And of course, it smells incredible. This is one of those ‘When I grow up and get rich, I’ll buy this all the time’ kind of products, for me at least!

Cleansing Milk with Gentian – Yet another cleanser to add to the bunch, and this one is delightful too. With a delicate scent and light formula, this is probably best for sensitive skins that are oily/combination too. It cleanses super gently, and leaves the skin so, so soft. For blemish-prone skin it’s probably not deeply cleansing enough, but it rebalances the complexion beautifully. And yes, it smells wonderful too.

Instant Eye Make-Up Remover – This is a bi-phase cleanser for stubborn eye make-up, and it’s pretty good. Not amazing, but it does the job. I take this with me to my boyfriend’s house, as the size is perfect and it performs perfectly well. It also has a gorgeous scent without irritating my eyes. But my Garnier version performs just as effectively, and as such I can’t see myself trading up in the foreseeable future.

Eye Revive Beauty Flash – This is a great little product for prepping the eyes for make-up, like the much-loved Clarins Beauty Flash Balm. While it doesn’t take care of puffiness and dark circles on a permanent basis, it brightens the eye area and helps you look a whole lot more awake in the morning. I like it, but I can’t see it being an essential step in my routine – yet, anyway.

Eye Contour Balm – Like the above eye product, this is a white cream that absorbs quickly and easily. With the addition of shea butter, it moisturises the eye area and keeps it hydrated. While my sample definitely doesn’t contain enough for me to notice any anti-ageing benefits over a significant period of time, if I was looking into investing in a luxury eye cream, I would give this another spin!

HydraQuench Cream-Mask – I’d often seen this being revered by other beauty bloggers, albeit by those with dry, dehydrated skin, so it was never really on my radar. But lately, due to a reaction to another product (see next paragraph!), my skin has been feeling very sorry for itself – sore, tight and irritated. In a last-ditch attempt to ease its suffering, I lathered on this mask for 15 minutes and hoped for the best. It absorbs into the skin and, for a while, it stung a little. I was scared it was going to cause another reaction but, a couple of hours later, my skin felt incredibly soothed and soft. My skin was apparently more dehydrated than I thought. To say I was surprised is an understatement! Definitely one to add to the wishlist!

Multi-Active Night Recovery Cream – The basic premise of this product is togive the illusion of well-rested, youthful skin when you’re looking a little haggard. Recommended for use by women aged 30+, I’m probably not its targeted demographic but I tried it out nonetheless. Luxurious texture? Check. Delicious scent? Check. Plumped, hydrated skin the next day? Check. Painful skin reaction? Check. This is way, way too rich for my skin, and I paid the price for two days of radiant skin. Cystic spots erupted by the second morning, and have taken a week to clear up. I’m avoiding this like the plague – which is a relief, considering the €60 price tag…

Given the above disaster, I’m not going to trial the moisturisers I have; the Multi-Active Day Cream (and it’s 30ml, too!) and the Daily Energiser Cream. It’s just not worth the risk, to be honest. Maybe one day I might come back to them, but right now I want to get my skin back to its normal condition, at least!

I also received two cosmetic samples, the Instant Light Natural Lip Perfector in 01 Rose Shimmer, and the Wonder Volume Mascara in Black (which doesn’t appear to be on the US website). The mascara is really nice, although I think it performs better in the length department than volume, funnily enough. It’s a great true black, and is a lovely non-waterproof option. That being said, high street mascaras probably perform just as well.
The Lip Perfector, however, is just gorgeous. I’m not a lipgloss girl at all, but this isn’t the least bit sticky, and it actually feels nourishing on the lips. It’s a great way to highlight the lips as subtly as possible. The shade Rose Shimmer is slightly too pale for my liking; if I were to invest, I’d go for the more opaque Candy Shimmer. And, to be honest, I definitely will invest at some point!

Image

I swear, no more Clarins post for a loooong time!

Em X

 

4 thoughts on “Another Clarins Love-In

  1. Pingback: June Beauty Favourites | ilyanarose

Leave a Reply

