Recent Skincare Purchases

 

Image

Apologies for my absence from the blog in the last couple of weeks. The weather in Ireland has been, in a word, lovely, and when I’m not working I’m trying to make the most of it. As much as I love blogging, it seems a huge shame to waste the sunshine while we have it. But fear not, I’m still here!

Imagine my glee when, browsing a Sam McCauley chemist in Carlow town, I discovered in stock a whole host of skincare brands that I never thought could be bought in a bricks-and-mortar store outside a city. Not only has Sam McCauley stocked a limited The Body Shop range for some time now(including the coveted chamomile range), but you can now buy This Works, NUXE, Trilogy and Elemis in store too. My debit card is cowering at this point!

While I haven’t gone nuts just yet, seeing as I’m frantically trying to save for a jaunt to Spain in three weeks, I did manage to pick up another coconut-themed product, the Coconut Shower Cream, €8.95.

Image 
I’ll confess to being utterly minimalistic when it comes to my shower routine. A bar of Dove soap is as sophisticated as it gets for me. Unsurprisingly, the skin on my legs and arms are prone to dryness and I figured that I needed to step up my shower game somehow. The Coconut Shower Cream contains Samoan virgin coconut oil (can you see the pattern yet?), and is soap-free. The creamy formula smells absolutely delicious, and feels pretty luxurious on the skin. It lathers nicely and, you know, it cleans you. While I’m not expecting it to deliver the same hydration as a body lotion or butter, things are definitely looking a little less parched. At €8.95 for 250ml, it’s not too pricey for a product you don’t need to lash on. I’m thinking, purely in the interests of consistency, I’ll have to invest in the Coconut Milk Body Lotion too. For science.

To continue my coconut obsession, I’ve got my eye on the NUXE Prodigieux le Parfum too. It smells like summer holidays in a pretty bottle. This is getting out of control!

Another recent skincare purchase has been the Dead Sea Spa Magik Black Mud Soap, which was €4.95 in a random health shop. I’ve taken to browsing health shops lately for some reason – someone stop me before I start living off linseeds and eschewing deodorant…

Image
Anything which promises to deal with problem and/or sensitive skin reels me in, hook line and sinker. I’ve never tried anything from the Dead Sea Spa Magik brand, but I’m always intrigued by ‘natural’ brands and whether they actually work. The Black Mud Soap contains pure Dead Sea mud, and doesn’t contain any animal fats, SLS or allergens in its fragrance. We all know that muds and clays are a common ingredient in blemish fighting skincare, and I really love the addition of a clay-based cleanser in my daily routine.

Image
T
his doesn’t look like your average bar of soap, but I guess the colour reassures you that the soap does, indeed, contain mud. I can’t describe the scent, but it does smell ‘natural’ and not highly perfumed, which would really suit sensitive skin. My skin isn’t sensitive per se, but absolutely anything can break it out, and I think that perfumed products could be one trigger. Heavy scents in cleansers really aren’t necessary anyway. The soap lathers a lot, you don’t need to use half the bar to get a good lather going. Always a good thing. It really, really cleanses the skin – I can’t tell you how clean my skin feels after using it. It honestly does feel like the mud has drawn out impurities and removed the last scraps of make-up leftover from my pre-cleanse. And, despite my suspicions, there was absolutely tightness in my skin afterwards either, thanks to the omission of SLS from the formula. I haven’t used this long enough to see a real change in my skin since using it, but I’ll definitely keep it up and let you know how I’m getting on. Now if only I could buy this in bottle-and-pump form…

Have you made any exciting skincare purchases recently? Will someone enable me to buy that The Body Shop Coconut Milk Body Lotion?!

Em X

5 thoughts on “Recent Skincare Purchases

  1. Pingback: June Beauty Favourites | ilyanarose

  2. Great post. I must keep an eye out for that mud-soap. I love anything that has clay or mud in it, my skins feels so good after using it. A good mask for oily/acne/spots is the Boots Botanics Shine Away Ionic Clay Mask, its wonderful stuff. And it lasts for ages too.
    I recently picked up Peaches & Clean by Soap & Glory, its smells nice and its amazing for removing make up, but my god it stings my eyes something rotten. The only time I can use it near my eyes is in the morning, I put a tiny amount on and rinse it off straight away and it won’t irritate my eyes, but I don’t recommend it for removing eye make up, even though its great for removing make up, esp mascara, but it will sting like hell!

    Like

    • I love that Boots mask, it’s so effective and super cheap too! Clay is the best thing for acne-prone skin 🙂

      Ooof there’s nothing worse than stinging eyes! That’s why I love the Garnier 2-in-1 eye make up remover (blue liquid, biphase). It’s really gentle but gets everything off! X

      Like

  3. Pingback: The Body Shop Obsession Lives On… | ilyanarose

Leave a Reply

