L’Oréal Lumi Magique Touch of Light Highlighter

DSCF0237In the last year or so, I’ve noticed that the shadows under my eyes are getting gradually darker, and any hint of tiredness is becoming more visible in my face. I’m not haggard just yet, but sometimes I feel like I need something to boost my complexion and fake that ‘I’ve had all my beauty sleep’ look. Having read several positive reviews about the L’Oréal Lumi Magique Touch of Light Highlighter, I finally picked it up in a chemist for €12.85.

DSCF0238

In its pretty rose gold tube,  with the twist dispenser and highlighting claims, this is undoubtedly a dupe for the revered YSL Touche Eclat. Both promise to conceal signs of fatigue, dark circles and fine lines, to give the illusion of a well-rested visage. In fact, the product descriptions of Lumi Magique and Touche Eclat on both the L’Oréal and YSL websites are virtually the same! I know they’re both part of the bigger whole, but it smacks of laziness to me. The only major differences between the two are the packaging and the shade range – Lumi Magique comes in three shades, while Touche Eclat has a more impressive twelve. But, whinging aside, is the cheaper alternative worth a try?

DSCF0239

DSCF0240

Lumi Magique is dispensed through a soft brush, which I use to dot the product under my eyes and then I blend it in with my ring finger. It’s quite thin and creamy, and it blends in easily and quickly. I bought shade 01, which is the lightest. Initially I was worried it would be a little pink-toned, but the salmony colour counteracts bluish shadows perfectly. Right now, my under-eye circles aren’t so bad, and I can lash the Lumi Magique on without it caking or looking ridiculous. But when college resumes and the early mornings catch up on me, I may need a dab of my failsafe Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer underneath Lumi Magique for extra coverage.

The overall effect is very impressive; the entire eye area appears lifted and brightened. There is a hint of shimmer which does transfer to the skin, but it doesn’t bother me at all if that’s what’s creating the illusion of radiance. The lasting power is great too; with a dusting of setting powder, Lumi Magique stays put all day without needing to be touched up – for someone with oily skin, that’s something in itself! Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer does tend to cake and settle in my fine lines during the day but we’ve got none of that going on here. While Lumi Magique doesn’t blur the fine lines exactly, it doesn’t draw attention to them by burrowing into them either!

I’ve never used YSL Touche Eclat so unfortunately I can’t compare the two; but I’m willing to my bet my bottom dollar that the formulae are almost identical. Lumi Magique is a flattering, easy-to-use option for me, and I might even branch out into cheekbone highlighting someday too (baby steps, though). If you’re after some Touche Eclat radiance on a Lumi Magique budget, I’d definitely recommend giving it a whirl 🙂

Em X

Leave a Reply

