My Holiday Make-Up Bag!

DSCF0301

This time next week, I’ll be sunning myself in glorious Spain – hopefully with a cocktail in hand and a decent book at my fingertips! As I’m flying out next Tuesday, I decided I’d better get my game face on and sort out my packing! When I’m on holidays in sunnier climes, I tend to keep my make-up to a bare minimum, if I wear any at all – there’s something about a suntan and being in a foreign country that makes me less inclined to trowel on the slap when it’s 30° outside. However, I wouldn’t feel right bringing no make-up whatsoever, so I’ll be packing lightweight and mattifying products to create simple but low-maintenance looks. And needless to say, the brow kit and the mattifying powder will be packed too!

DSCF0305

Base-wise, I’ll be starting things off with my Smashbox Photofinish Foundation Primer in Light. I know I’ve mentioned that this seems to break me out, but my skin is in tatters at the moment (don’t ask me why, I gave up trying to figure it out), and I can’t see this making things any worse. Also, my foundation gets eaten by my pores in hot weather, and this is the only product I have that can prevent it!

My foundation  of choice will be my Chanel Perfection Lumière Velvet in B10. The shade B10 is the tiniest bit warm on my skin at the moment, so I think I’ll get away with it for most of the holiday until my tan is completely developed. The coverage isn’t as full as I’d like these days, but a heavy base just ain’t happening in the Spanish heat!

For cheeks and contouring, I’ll be bringing my trusty Benefit duo; CORALista and Hoola. CORALista gives a stunning  peachy glow to the skin, which is perfect with a tan. And, of course, no holiday look is complete without the bronze factor, so Hoola will be hopping in there too. I can’t fault the quality of either product, although I do wish I had travel-sized versions to take with me rather than the bulky boxes.

DSCF0303

My usual concealers will be coming with me; my Collection Lasting Perfection and L’Oréal Lumi Magique Highlighter. Lasting Perfection is an excellent option for concealing blemishes for hours on end, while the Lumi Magique both highlights and conceals the under eye are without creasing – ideal for covering up the aftermath of too many cosmos and not enough sleep!

For my eyes, I’m keeping things really simple; my MAC Powerpoint Eye Pencil in Engraved simply does not budge, which is perfect in hot weather. For a little more definition, I’ll be using my e.l.f. Jumbo Eyeshadow Stick in Turkish Coffee; I love this for adding colour to the waterline or as a smokey wash of colour on the lid. Sure, it’s no By Terry Ombre Blackstar, but it does the job, and is long lasting too! Then I’ll finish things off with a coat of waterproof mascara – in this case, my Lancôme Hypnôse Doll Eyes. After all, nobody wants melting mascara and ensuing panda eyes.

If I fancy jazzing things up a little in the lips department, I’ll pack my new Rimmel Moisture Renew Lipstick in As You Want Victoria. The highly-pigmented punchy pink-red will look gorgeous with a tan, and the moisturising formula is super comfortable to wear. After all, the last thing I’m bothered about on holidays is touching up my lipstick! And of course, my trusty NUXE Rêve de Miel Ultra-Nourishing Lip Balm will always be on hand to soothe dried out lips after a day dipping in the sea.

DSCF0300

Of course, sun protection is probably the most important thing to throw into my toiletry bag. I’ve picked up a couple of bottles of Aldi’s Lacura Moisturising Sun Lotion in Factor 30, as well as their Aftersun Spray with aloe vera. And, to avoid a greasy visage and extra pimples, I’ll be bringing my new La Roche-Posay Anthelios SPF30 Matte Fluid. Ordinary suncream wreaks havoc on my face, but now I can give my skin the protection it needs without the spots it definitely doesn’t need!

Lastly, instead of nail polish, I’ll be sporting these adorable false nails from Penneys!
DSCF0299

I’ve already planned to wear those adorable pineapples on the way over then, when they eventually give up the ghost, the neon aztec prints will complement my tan perfectly!

 

What are your holiday beauty essentials?

Em X

Leave a Reply

