La Roche-Posay Effaclar Mat

DSCF0244

Finding a moisturiser that hydrates my skin sufficiently without (a) leaving my face looking like an oil slick or (b) breaking me out is a challenge in itself. Most moisturisers I’ve tried have either been far too rich for my skin, or have left me with tiny dry patches and an all-round feeling of roughness in my skin.  The balance is a seriously tricky one to maintain, but occasionally I discover something that keeps my skin happy. And, yes, La Roche-Posay Effaclar Mat is one of those little gems.

DSCF0245

Generally speaking, La Roche-Posay has a happy relationship with my skin. While I don’t think that any skincare routine can fully eradicate my spots, my La Roche-Posay products help to keep things calm and balanced without drawing out every last drop of moisture. I had heard great things about the moisturisers in the Effaclar range, so when I began to run low on moisturiser last month, I picked up Effaclar Mat for £9.66 during Escentual’s most recent French Pharmacy sale. And that is pretty great value considering it can cost up to €19 in pharmacies at home.

The tube packaging is perfectly functional and hygienic, and it’s quite portable too. The moisturiser itself has a lightweight gel-like consistency, and smells faintly like the rest of the Effaclar range without being overly scented. I love that it absorbs quickly into the skin and feels really cooling too. It provides a smooth, matte finish that could easily be used as a base for foundation, although I prefer to use a primer too. No precaution spared, and all that.

Effaclar Mat makes a lot of bold claims, some of which go over my head so I really don’t know if they are actually fulfilled! The basic functions of Effaclar Mat are anti-shine and anti-enlarged pores, both of which it carries out quite well. My skin stays matte, or at least the right side of dewy, for a good 4-5 hours before I need to blot or powder, and that’s in the summertime. And those pesky enlarged pores either side of my nose are certainly reduced, giving my skin a more perfected appearance. Effaclar Mat contains Sebulyse, which apparently ‘inhibits sebum at its source’, and the oil-regulating is done via absorbent microspheres and perlite (nope, me either).

This is a great moisturiser for anyone who is in need of a good dose of hydration without the inevitable shiny back-of-a-spoon face. My skin’s texture is improving slightly too, and it never appears parched anymore. I definitely recommend looking out for Effaclar Mat during the sales, to get the best value for money. But even at full price, it’s a great little daytime moisturiser for us oily gals!

Em X

P.S. Today I had my eyebrows waxed for the first time. How I managed until this point, I’ll never know.

Leave a Reply

