Well it wouldn’t be a holiday without a trip to Kiko…

10382739_257185354479313_1604298721663702044_n
There was no way in hell that this wasn’t happening. I’ve been dreaming of Kiko ever since I first visited their Florence store in October last year. Kiko isn’t available in a bricks-and-mortar store in Ireland, and I believe there is only one branch alone in the UK. However, the Italian brand has a reputation for high quality cosmetics at a very affordable price point, and it’s no wonder that we Irish and British beauty lovers stock up whenever we visit mainland Europe. When I found out that the town I’d be visiting in Spain did indeed have a Kiko store, I began compiling a list. A long list.

And here is what came home with me… and may have contributed to my suitcase being 3kg overweight on the return flight…

Face 101 Retractable Powder Brush €13.90
DSCF0324
This was probably the most practical buy of the bunch. I always keep a powder brush and blotting powder in my handbag for on-the-go touch-ups, but it’s impossible to prevent the brush becoming grotty and covered in handbag germs. And here, ladies and gentlemen, is the perfect solution. The bristles are very densely packed, ensuring a good covering of powder. And it stays clean, allaying my slight germaphobia.

Face 102 Powder Brush €15.90
DSCF0334
IT’S SO FLUFFY!
Seriously, it’s really fluffy and soft. I’ve been looking for a massive powder brush for ages, and I’ve found it. Just the ticket for applying my new MAC Mineralise Skinfinish 😉

Peeling Mask €5.90
DSCF0328
Because, why not? I’m not expecting miracles from this, but it’s worth a try, right? I love anything to do with exfoliation and face masks, so this went straight into the basket. And yes, they do give you baskets in Kiko. Those pesky enablers.

Longeyes Plus Active Mascara €7.90
DSCF0329 I’ve become a little obsessed with mascaras lately, for some reason. I’m always looking for something new and interesting, and I found it in this one. The first time I wore it, my sister said ‘You’ve got really long eyelashes!’. No joke.

Long Lasting Stick Eyeshadow €6.90
DSCF0331
DSCF0332
Now I’m not calling these a dupe for the infamous By Terry Ombre Blackstar stick eyeshadows, but I’m definitely saying that they are extremely similar. I chose the shades 05 Rosy Brown and 07 Golden Beige, which do bear more than a passing resemblance to the Ombre Blackstars in Misty Rock and Blond Opal, especially when swatched. A little bit of luxury for those of us with less than deep pockets, perhaps. And the staying power is out of this world, might I add. If you’re near a Kiko store anytime soon, you know what to do.

Soft Touch Blush €7.50
DSCF0337
I bought this in the shade 103 Golden Peach in the hopes of discovering a cheap-as-chips NARS Orgasm dupe. It’s slightly more pink in tone than the photograph suggests, with a good dollop of golden shimmer too. As pretty as it looks in the pan, this is definitely one for those lucky girls who don’t have to worry about drawing attention to spots or gaping pores…

Colour Correction Powder €12.90
DSCF0341
This was one of those ‘Oooh, you look interesting’ purchases that generally go one of two ways: an utter waste of money, or the best serendipitous purchase you’ve ever made. I haven’t had a chance to test it out yet, but it’ll be interesting to see whether those purple, peach, yellow and green waves make any difference to my complexion at all. And if not, it’ll be a great one for the handbag.

And with that, she vowed never to spend again.

(Pah!)

Em X