The May Wish List

Good evening bloggers! I’ve survived another round of exams, and hopefully will have a lot more time to dedicate to the blog, until September at least! I really missed blogging while I was studying; the temptation to knock out a post or two while I was struggling with Trust Law was overwhelming at times. But I stayed strong (sort of) and now I get to brainstorm, plan and write to my heart’s content.

True to beauty blogger style, I’ve got a long, long list of lotions and potions that I’m hoping to check off the list in the next few weeks. And of course, whatever comes into my possession will be reviewed in detail as soon as 🙂

La Roche-Posay Effaclar Mat
Image
La Roche-Posay is a skincare brand that seems to agree with my troublesome skin; I already own Effaclar Duo+ and the Astringent Micro-exfoliant Lotion and both are effective at keeping things under control without dehydrating or irritating my skin. I’m in need of a lightweight moisturiser for summertime that will treat my imperfections, keep excess shine at bay and minimise pores but still give my skin the hydration that it needs. Effaclar Mat has had good reviews and isn’t wildly expensive, so hopefully this will be making its way into my stash soon! Although, after the Avène disaster, anything marginally better will do!

Laura Mercier Silk Crème Foundation
 Image
Often when it comes to foundation, a compromise has to be made between full coverage and a flattering finish. Skin-perfecting foundations can leave the complexion ashen and dull, while sheerer, more luminous bases sometimes just aren’t powerful enough to conceal the aftermath of a heavy night out or a horrific breakout. Silk Crème has been hailed by beauty bloggers as a full coverage foundation that actually leaves the skin with a natural glow. When my skin’s not behaving itself my sheer bases just won’t cut the mustard, but heavy, powdery foundations feel suffocating in the summer months. Silk Crème sounds like the answer to my foundation prayers!

Chanel Les Beiges Healthy Glow Sheer Powder No. 30
Image
When I had my make-up done at a Chanel counter recently while buying my Perfection Lumière Velvet foundation, the MUA used this gorgeous bronzer for contouring, and I can’t wait to get my hands on it. It’s a matte, silky powder that sits really nicely on the skin, and the lasting power is excellent on my oily skin. No. 30 doesn’t appear to be available on the Chanel website, but there are plenty of images for it online; an almost peachy nude that is lovely against warm-toned but pale skin. Unlike many bronzers, it doesn’t look orange or muddy either. I don’t often bother with a contour step unless I’m going for a full-on make-up look. But with this stunning little compact in my stash, I might just make the effort more often, especially coming into summer 😉

The Body Shop Camomile Silky Cleansing Oil
Image
Everyone and their dog is raving about this cleansing oil and I’ve been dying to get my hands on it. Although I tend to run a mile from oil-based skincare, the rave reviews I’ve read about this one are starting to convince me that I needn’t shy away from some cleansing oils, at least (although I would still follow up with a cream/gel cleanser). This promises to leave the skin clean and refreshed, and without a scrap of make-up; perfect for the summer months. While I love my Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water, the bottle is very bulky to travel with, and I need a separate eye make-up remover to get rid of stubborn waterproof eyeliner and mascara. This cleansing oil claims to do it all, and in more travel-friendly packaging that is perfect for hauling to and from my boyfriend’s house. I’m sold!

Essie Watermelon
Image

I first saw this scrumptious shade in ghostparties’ DIY manicure vlog, and fell in love at first sight. I lurve breaking out the brights for my summertime manicures (which are rudimentary at best, I hasten to add). Watermelon is described as a ‘creamy and refreshing juicy red’, which I definitely feel leans pink too. This kind of shade is gorgeous with a tan, which I’m hoping to acquire in the next couple of months! Also, Essie is one of those ubiquitous brands that I’ve never tried, so this would be a great introduction to the range. May watermelon never leave my fingertips this summer, be it of the nail polish or the fruity variety!

Well that’s the bones my May wish list; whether or not it can be fulfilled is another matter! Have you got your eye on any beauty treats this summer?

Em X